We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive Clean Room, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Massive Clean Room, good location”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Very impressed with this basic hotel. The location is good, just a ten minute walk to the centre of the old town of Chester. Couple of shops nearby and a CAMRA pub of the year 2014 opposite the hotel which was nice. Why not stagger check in times?

Overall, it was good.

The room was clean, check in was a bit slow though. Told to come back at 2pm which was fine, but then there was a queue of people that had been told the same thing, it took 15minutes.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mandb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Chester City Centre Premier Inn and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,231
    757
    206
    56
    35
See reviews for
420
1,146
72
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
n/a
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

ROOM
Spacious with freeview TV and en-suite shower. Tea and coffee provided, but the air conditioning unit is very efficient, possibly too efficient. You ended up wanting real fresh air rather than the recycled/germ ridden air (picked up a cold from the air-con). Windows do not open.

That being said the room was very comfortable.


BREAKFAST
Big hint, get the inclusive breakfast as it i £8 for continental and £16 for cooked. Inclusive breakfast includes:

Cereal, fruit juice, toast, pastries, sausages, eggs, bacon, mushrooms, baked beans, has browns.

While I was there there was no cooked buffet but the staff asked "how many sausages do you want" etc, so there was no attempt to restrict our food intake.


PARKING
While we did not need a space, as other reviewers have stated, parking is limited so it is best to check in advance.


STAFF
Mostly very helpful although some odd questions about nationality (I assume it was to do with their marketing demographic).

There was also a delay in getting our room as it had to be converted from a double to a single (the room was booked 6 months prior so there was no excuse for not being prepared). The space between the bes was inadequate, but some adjustments of our own resolved the problem.

All in all a great location. A little training of some staff members on reception would improve the experience further.

Room Tip: Room 11 in the basement was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Chester City Centre Premier Inn Kind regards, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Accommodation was excellent and all staffwwere very helpful and pleasant
All facilities were satisfactory. Ideal for a city centre location, would stay again
Most important was friendliest and help of staff
Mike, Cirencester


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards. Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our room smelt of drains and overlooked a rowdy bar. Lifts were out of order. Vending machines out of order. No take out coffee cups. Hotel was pretty grubby for a Premier Inn. Impossible to sleep , noisy outside, air con loud and on a busy road.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyDaisyDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this premier inn for three nights . The welcome we received was good. We are in the restaurant for the first night, we enjoyed it so much we then ate in there every night . You could not have had better service in a five star. We were looked after by Sue, and she made sure we enjoyed our stay. And the food was excellent. If you want good value for money, stay in a lovely city, and meet such lovely people that really care then stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallyhallmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. Kind regards, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

To be fair - I'll say straight up that this review is from our stay in October 2013. Looking back at other Tripadvisor reviews from that time - perhaps the hotel was having a bad patch. Maybe things have improved. I can only say what it was like for us & because it was so long ago (I am only just catching up with reviews from our big holiday), I will be brief-ish.

Pluses ;
Location - excellent - so close to the inner city - easy to find.
Room - was quiet, just as we had asked for .
Bed was ok.
We got a hotel parking spot on our second day. Is in secure area.

Minuses ;
Our room was boiling hot - nothing we did changed that. Windows don't open. Hard to sleep in such a hot room - when mentioned to staff at the desk - no comment - no mention of the 'Good Night Sleep' policy.
Lighting in our room was very dull. Not much light coming through window either, as brick wall opposite.
Soap dispenser in shower didn't work - but was fixed when I mentioned it.
No exhaust fan in bathroom / toilet.
Hardly any milk or teabags left for us. Had to ask each day.
Dining room was seriously understaffed - especially at breakfast time.
Buffet breakfast (not sure they do buffet anymore) - was more like hide and seek. Some things were here, some there, some over behind that, some hidden behind somewhere else. They kept running out of bowls, cups, food. Must have been a nightmare for the staff - wasn't much fun for the customers either.
We didn't get a hotel parking spot on our first day. Had to park at railway station, but that was full so we had to wait for someone to leave. Also it was raining - so not a pleasant walk back to the hotel.
When you do get a parking spot at the hotel - they charge you for it.
We had prepaid for our evening meal on our first night. Mostly the food was pretty good - although I did get a very awful tasting dodgy crumbed mushroom in my entree. Thought I might be ok.... but ended up with a dodgy tummy then next day.

We have stayed with Premier Inn in other places and would go to those ones again - not so for this one - but maybe things have improved. I hope so, because this place is in a great spot.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when you book. We have always been given one that seems quiet. You might be f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Chester Premier Inn room was very comfortable & stylish, with a vast space for a twin room - perfect for the Bride-to-be I shared the room with. Tasty & continually replenished breakfast, and comfortable check-out time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingeMechant2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards. Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,371 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Address: 20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest Premier Inn situated in the heart of the historic city of Chester, stay with us & explore the historic facades of the Black & White buildings, two tired rows of 1000+ shops. With its beautiful cathedral, range of exciting nightlife and cultural heritage. Chester is the ideal city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Chester
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing