We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought all the rooms had large beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Thought all the rooms had large beds”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stay here quite regularly on Friday and Saturday night with my husband as we enjoy weekend visits to Chester. We have always been under the impression that all the rooms at Premier Inn have very large beds and in fact this, along with the air conditioning are the main reasons we have stayed here in the past. Normally we have stayed in a room which has a bed of at least King size but the room we were occupying this weekend appeared to only have a double bed as confirmed by the housekeeper we spoke to on the Saturday morning. She suggested we make sure at the time of booking that we specify we want a large bed. She also suggested that we ask for another room for the Saturday night which has a larger bed, but we decided to stay put as we had already unpacked our over night bags and only had one night left. We did book several weeks in advance so we were surprised that we had not been given a room with a larger bed. Other than this, the hotel itself is very clean and well placed for the city centre.

Room Tip: If you prefer a large bed then make sure at the time of booking you specify this or you may find you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissyLee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Chester City Centre Premier Inn Kind regards, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    764
    209
    57
    36
See reviews for
425
1,153
72
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flintshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Absolutely Excellent for all I needed - a good location to get to the town centre and the train station, clean and modern, friendly staff and a comfy bed at the end of the night - I couldn't ask for more

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Chester City Centre Premier Inn and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night last night i will let you know about tonights stay tomorrow on trip advisor parking for disabled is a joke Staff in car park smoking we had to walk past them the smell was awful Like a dirty ash tray !!!food in restaurant is very good rooms r clean and tidy silly lift for disabled to get into hotel had to wait for member of staff to use their key to operate it a ramp would have been much faster and easier lift in hotel broken which makes it harder for disabled getting from car park had to get a staff member to open a fire door so we could get back from car park to our room going home in morning and wont be going out now so wont have any more agro with parking my disabled car Shame this premier inn is not as good as other premier inns we have stayed in

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 307050448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great value hotel for low price. Staff were warm and welcoming. Basic, clean and comfortable rooms with good facilities. Bed was very comfortable! Loved that not one, but two extra pillows were provided. Excellent shower. Only complaint is no phone or iron in room, but didn't require either. Upon request though, i am sure the hotel would have provided us with those items.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. Kind regards, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hotel could not be situated better if travelling by train being halfway between railway station and city centre, maximum journey time between both being 5 minutes. Staff extremely friendly and helpful, breakfast very good, room spacious with usual Premier Inn guarantees of a good nights sleep. Must do visits walk city walls and Chester Zoo direct bus from station.cost £2 return.. Access city centre via canal alongside hotel with The Old Harkers Arms, Chester on the canal beside the hotel being an ideal venue for a meal and drink.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhammerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed for 2 night 2adults 1child had a lovely clean room, breakfast and evening meal deal is very worth taking up. Staff are lovely but waiting on staff where very friendly. Nice and close to the town for shopping and sightseeing .Good luck to Helen (waiting on member) getting married in September .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerseysideSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robina, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in a room facing away from the road, so it was blissfully quiet which is what we wanted. We didn't take dinner (went to Koconut Island indian next door, which is excellent) or breakfast so cannot speak to the quality of the restaurant.

The room was neat, tidy and relatively modern. The TV is a bit small and old and 4:3, but serviceable none the less.

Bed was comfortable, though on the firmer side but we enjoy a firm mattress (it sure beats saggy ones).

Sleep was fine, no interruptions so they delivered on their promise this time.

Front lift was out, but they had two so no problem there.

Parking under the hotel is very limited so you'll want to sort that out in advance. If you can't park there the closest is down by the Chester railway station which is about 5 minutes walk away. Prices are just about to go up to 6 pounds per 24 hours in the next few days. (It's NCP)

Bathroom was fine.

Don't expect more than a Premier Inn in the city is supposed to be and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the opposite side from the main road will be quieter than those facing it, so ask when book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kruft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Chester City Centre Premier Inn Kind regards, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,659 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#13 of 44 in Chester
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Address: 20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest Premier Inn situated in the heart of the historic city of Chester, stay with us & explore the historic facades of the Black & White buildings, two tired rows of 1000+ shops. With its beautiful cathedral, range of exciting nightlife and cultural heritage. Chester is the ideal city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Chester
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing