We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good English Pub Food”
Review of The Brewery Tap

The Brewery Tap
Ranked #22 of 562 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$22
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Traditional British style pub set in a wonderful historic location offering great value local food and ales in warm and friendly surroundings
Newport, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Really good English Pub Food”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

You don't go to an English Pub to experience 'nouvelle cuisine' and as such, my expectations to get a good traditional meal in a Pub have been exceeded. The Brewery Tap provides a small menu but the food we had (we went twice during our vacation in Chester) was very good. The mash is creamy, the sausages well spiced and the gravy rich in favor. My favorite though, is the Brewery Tap home-made terrine with chutney, which you have to taste. All in all, Pub Food cannot get any better than what we eat at the Brewery Tap!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    218
    30
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“History and a pint!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Lovely Beers in a Jacobean old hall, friendly atmosphere and good ale, a must visit on a night out in Chester.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful establishment”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Recommended to visit this property due to the quality of the real ales and history of the building. Neither disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good local food and beers”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We found this in the Internet and thought we would give it a try as we were in the city visiting friends.
It is a lovely old building dating back to the early 1600s. We had an excellent meal - Devilled kidneys and Pigs Trotter on Toast to start with, Chicken and pigs trotter pie and boiled ox tongue and cheese to follow. All washed down with a couple of pints of Spitting Feathers, their own brew.
Where possible all the produce is local.
There are also a fine selection of real ales available and well balanced menu which caters for most tastes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rufus588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Echoey vaulted ceiling and price.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

In general the food is not bad and a bit different to main stream. It seems that the bars staff think that the customers are there for them. Young girls with a bit of a up their own b-m complex, especially the man. There is on young blond tall girl that's been there for some time she is nice and understands what her job is all about. The whole place is clean and the atmosphere changes through the day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geff3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brewery Tap also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Brewery Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing