We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chester City Centre Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Coach House Inn
Ranked #5 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chester City Centre Visit”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Perfect location at the centre of the City close to the Cathedral which as a site of worship dates back to Roman times. Easy access to the City, its shops and bars or the City Walls for those so minded to walk the circuit. Convenient parking at reasonable rates.

The Coach House can be summed up by its staff who were all friendly, efficient good at their jobs and made us feel comfortable and trusted. Food was excellent, in particular breakfast, good wine and a wide selection at the bar and the accomodation better than that offered by many of the major chains.

Definitely worth a visit - we will certainly go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for such brilliant feedback! All your comments have been fed back to the staff. We are so glad your enjoyed your stay.

I very much hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    110
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
62
227
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We Loved It !!!! Perfect location within the city walls, close to shops & bars and the food was really good- Welsh Rarebit was yummy ! The room was really nicely furnished and spotless. We parked in the Market Car Park which is opposite the Hotel and it was £8.80 from 2pm until 11am but I think that's the maximum charge however long you stay and its locked over night. Tea and Coffee from the bar is complimentary if you are staying here which is a lovely touch.. the only tiny niggle was they ran out of Black Pudd for breakfast and did not offer an alternative - the waitress told us they had run out as she delivered our breakfast.. she claimed that but most people are not bothered anyway and walked off ... I had already traded my black pudd for my fiancés beans so it was a problem lol (they where very busy so we let her off)
We will definitely stay here again if visiting Chester ...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle6564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such positive feedback! All comments have been passed onto the staff. The welsh rarebit is my favorite! I do apologise about the black pudding incident.

We do hope to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great location beside the beautiful town hall. Lovely staff who looked after us really well and a fab restaurant. We were in town for a Wedding and they made sure we had everything we needed. I'd recommend the Coach House highly as a hotel, restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hello,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback! All your comments have been passed fed back to the staff.

Thanks again, the Coach House team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Only a one night stay but I'm sure we'll return.

As soon as we got there we were made welcome, check-in was painless. No money changed hands until we left in the morning, room, food and bar bill all on one bill unlike most hotels who want to take your money as you step through the door.

The whole place oozes Olde England inside and out, room was comfortable with nice puffy pillows, clean and tidy with a good sized TV, good local beers and locally sourced sausages, bacon etc. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much for them.

There is no car parking on site so you need to use the multi storey which is 5 minutes away, not a big inconvenience if you only have a smallish bag/suitcase, there is also no lift in the hotel so if you are hard of walking or get short breathed ask for a first floor room, they also need to remove those horrible smelly plugins, none of this is criticism just an observation.

Overall a great nights stay.

Room Tip: See my comment above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutterathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such positive feedback! I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. The smelly plugins will be looked at :)! All comments have been passed onto the staff. Thanks again, the Coach House team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I commenced our UK holiday with 2 nights in Chester and staying at The Coach House made it a perfect start. We arrived before check in time but it was no trouble for the staff to hold our bags while we explored the city. It is so centrally located and within easy walking distance to most attractions. The room was very clean and of ample size and the staff (especially our breakfast girl) could not have been more friendly, helpful and obliging. We love Chester and would definitely return to The Coach House. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turtle035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Hello,

I would just like to say a quick thank you for your lovely review you left about your stay with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed yourself. Your comments have been passed onto the staff. It certainly put a smile on the Kristina's face ( the girl who served your breakfasts)!

Thanks again,

Elisher Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My wife and I married at the Town Hall in Chester in August and looked for a venue close by for a meal with the day time guests. We had stayed previously at the Coach House on the night we got engaged and decided it would be the ideal choice situated as it is next to the Town Hall. We arranged in advance to have the dining area reserved for our guests and the staff had prepared the area for us when we arrived. The food was excellent, every one of our guest commented on how good it was, the staff could not do enough for us and made our day perfect. We decided to stay over on the night of our wedding and booked an executive suite. The staff decorated the room with a heart of flower petals and a box of local chocolates and a very nice bottle of wine as well. The room had everything we could possibly need and gave us a perfect nights sleep. The next morning a table had been set aside especially for us and the breakfast was exceptional. Thank you to the staff at the Coach House for giving us the perfect start to our married life.

Room Tip: Go for the executive or bridal suite for the most elegant of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kintheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Hello there,

Thank you ever so much for the fantastic review. I am so pleased you & your guests enjoyed your time with us. It was a real plesure having you all here.

Please do come back to see us!

We wish you both all the best,

Elisher Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on races ladies day and to celebrate my friends hen party.. This hotel is in a ideal location, the room was very well decorated and lovely furnishings, the staff were very friendly and obliging and the food was excellent, a real gem of a place...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethmory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We hope that you enjoyed your visit to Chester and that the hen do was a success. I will pass all of your lovely comments onto the staff.

We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Coach House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House Inn

Property: The Coach House Inn
Address: 39 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House Inn provides luxurious, affordable accommodation in Chester city centre. The eight bedrooms have been refurbished this year to a high standard, providing comfortable, convenient accommodation for our guests.Located next door to the architecturally acclaimed town hall and opposite the famous Chester cathedral, The Coach House provides a perfect base from which to explore Chester and Cheshire. All rooms are non smoking with ensuite and have tea and coffee making facilities, colour televisions, direct dial telephones and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Coach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Chester
The Coach House Inn Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing