We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach House Inn
Ranked #5 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Me and my wife had a fantastic Monday overnight stay at the coach house,the room was spotless,the food beautiful and the staff a joy. If anyone is looking for a great place to stay or eat in chester this is the place.

Room Tip: Room 5 beautiful view of chester
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Hello there,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is very much appreciated. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your comments have been passed onto the staff! We would love to have you stay again.

With kind regards,

The Coach House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

This place is seriously underrated! Booked a table for ten for a Friday evening... Had fish cakes to start and rump steak for main.. Both were absolutely gorgeous, steak was cooked to perfection. I was devastated I was so full and couldn't manage a dessert! Everyone else agreed the food was awesome... Although there was 10 of us and it was quite busy the service was brilliant and the food arrived very quickly. Atmosphere was also great, really can't wait to go back and this time I will definitely be saving room for pud! Thanks for a great night :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickihowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Hello!

Thank you so much for the fantastic review!! It is greatly appreciated. I am so pleased your party loved the evening, so much so I think I may of seen you come in a few times since! :)

Thanks again. With kind regards,

The Coach House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We enjoyed our meal. Menu is fairly traditional pub food - fish and chips, gammon etc. the food quality was excellent and reasonably priced. The location is great - right in the heart of Chester. Only disappointment was when we ordered dessert and the pudding with clotted cream was served with ice cream instead. I can understand being out of cream, but please, the waiter should have mentioned this before bringing something we did not want. They did take it off our bill however, I just would not have it ordered it if it was not as described on the menu.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank QCQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Hello there,

Thank you for the good feedback! I am so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. I do apologise about the cream mistake, it has been noted. We would love to have you dine with us again.

With kind regards,

Tom Brock

The Coach House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

21 of us sat down here tonight for a 3 course meal which turned out to be superb, the game terrine, as good as any french restaurant, the beef course, well quality meat always wins through and I had the xmas pud, not over heavy. Those who chose the apple pudding and the chocolate cheesecake with orange ice cream were similarly challenged, ' cant finish it dave, too full' . Full marks. Oh and Thwaites beer in good nick too. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidSmall1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Hello,

I would like to say a big thank you for the wonderful review you left. It is very much appreciated. I am so pleased you had a great evening with us and that the food was good! Please do come back!

With kind regards,

The Coach House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We have just spent the weekend at the coach house in Chester,Chester looked beautiful and magical. The Coach House was wonderful. Beautiful warm rooms, fluffy towels, loads of tea and coffee, and a really comfortable bed. Breakfast was to die for, beautifully presented local food. Best value for money right in the centre of the town. A real gem. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Hello there,

Thank you so much for giving us 5/5! It is very much apreciated. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We would love to have you stay again.

With kind regards,

The Coach House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed for a one night mid week break. Parked in Market Car Park just around the corner which was reasonably priced.From arriving to leaving the staff couldnt have been nicer. We were offered complimentary coffees on arrival and even though we were early we were able to go to our room. We had booked a twin room but were given one large bed on mentioning to a staff member it was quickly corrected. Lovely large room and bathroom, just a tad noisy through the night due to mid week revellers! We ate our Evening meal in the hotel restaurant. Curried cauliflower soup, Shepherds Pie and Sausage & Mash in a Yorkshire Pudding washed down with a nice bottle of red wine. Delicious! As was the breakfast, faultless. We were able to leave our bags whilst we had a final wander around the shops and on returning in gale force winds and rain were offered coffees sat in front of a lovely log burning stove.Cant wait to return at some point in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Hello,

Thank you ever so much for the positive feedback! I remember the mix up with the beds which I do apologise about again. I am so glad you both enjoyed your stay and all your food. All comments have been passed onto the staff!

Thanks again, hopefully see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Loved the Coach House, it's central, great staff who can't do enough for you, free tea/coffee from the bar and the food is excellent. We stayed in a premier room which was very spacious. You get your own key so can enter the hotel through a separate entrance if you don't want to walk through the bar. It's a bit of a pain trying to negotiate lots of doors when you're helped up with shopping but does help if you want to come in late. Our room was on the front of the hotel so had a lovely view over the market place, town hall and the Christmas lights. However, you can hear everyone going past late at night and even with the windows shut the noise still got through. Your satnav will take you to the rear of the hotel and use the Market Car Park as other reviewers have stated, it's very near. If you don't want to use the car, taxis stop right outside the hotel and there's also an old-fashioned open-top bus you can catch which does a tour of the city in about 40 minutes. Great for seeing the sights, plenty of cheesy commentary and best done when it's not freezing cold outside!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for the review. All comments get passed onto the staff and it's just great to have such lovely things to tell them. We do apologise about the noise and we are working on ways to reduce it.

Thanks again, hopefully see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 45 in Chester
1,193 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House Inn

Address: 39 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £83 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House Inn provides luxurious, affordable accommodation in Chester city centre. The eight bedrooms have been refurbished this year to a high standard, providing comfortable, convenient accommodation for our guests.Located next door to the architecturally acclaimed town hall and opposite the famous Chester cathedral, The Coach House provides a perfect base from which to explore Chester and Cheshire. All rooms are non smoking with ensuite and have tea and coffee making facilities, colour televisions, direct dial telephones and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Coach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Chester
The Coach House Inn Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing