We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach House Inn
Ranked #5 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We booked a 2 night stay at the coach house, and as soon as we arrived we was greeted warmly, the free hot drinks are also very good! The room was lovely and spacious and very clean. We ate in the restaurant on the first night which was amazing and also had 50% off so it worked out a bargain! The breakfast was gorgeous and didn't have to wait long for the food to be served!
Over all a lovely hotel and if returning to Chester I would defiantly go back!!
Only downsides are thin walls so was woken around 6am with people chatting in their rooms, and also the air fresheners smell a tad funny! Other than that a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 629NicoleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review about us.
Your review has been passed onto all our staff. Please do come back we promise to look into the smelly air fresheners!

We hope to see you soon,

The Coach House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
There are newer reviews for The Coach House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

From checking in until checking out the staff were fantastic, the rooms were gorgeous and really good value for money. And the freshly cooked breakfast was amazing, you could tell it wasn't the usual hotel breakfast you get left on a hot plate, everything tasted so good. I need to know where you get your bread from too! Overall a brilliant hotel, will definitely be returning and would recommend to anyone. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lea_oxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Hello!

What a great review! Thank you so much! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and loved your breakfast. Please do come again!

With kind regards,

The Coach House Team.

P.S. We get our bread from Wallis the Bakers! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

After being completely disappointed in the food they had to offer at the Watergate Bar I thought I'd try here, seeing as I walk past it every day to get to the bus station! The food was absolutely gorgeous, literally so delicious I cannot even fault anything! During the week you get 50% off your meal which is fantastic- we worked out that we'd spend more at McDonald's!!!!!! Gorgeous food and drink, wonderful prices and an amazing atmosphere! All of the staff were attentive and friendly too! Absolutely 100% recommend to everyone, I will most definitely be attending again (probably later on in the week ha!)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _evedavies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Hello,

I would just like to thank you for the amazing feedback you left about your meal with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed the food and that we out did Watergate Bar! I noticed you had the crumble, it's my fav!

Thanks again,

The Coach House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Me and my wife had a fantastic Monday overnight stay at the coach house,the room was spotless,the food beautiful and the staff a joy. If anyone is looking for a great place to stay or eat in chester this is the place.

Room Tip: Room 5 beautiful view of chester
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Hello there,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is very much appreciated. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your comments have been passed onto the staff! We would love to have you stay again.

With kind regards,

The Coach House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This place is seriously underrated! Booked a table for ten for a Friday evening... Had fish cakes to start and rump steak for main.. Both were absolutely gorgeous, steak was cooked to perfection. I was devastated I was so full and couldn't manage a dessert! Everyone else agreed the food was awesome... Although there was 10 of us and it was quite busy the service was brilliant and the food arrived very quickly. Atmosphere was also great, really can't wait to go back and this time I will definitely be saving room for pud! Thanks for a great night :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickihowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Hello!

Thank you so much for the fantastic review!! It is greatly appreciated. I am so pleased your party loved the evening, so much so I think I may of seen you come in a few times since! :)

Thanks again. With kind regards,

The Coach House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We enjoyed our meal. Menu is fairly traditional pub food - fish and chips, gammon etc. the food quality was excellent and reasonably priced. The location is great - right in the heart of Chester. Only disappointment was when we ordered dessert and the pudding with clotted cream was served with ice cream instead. I can understand being out of cream, but please, the waiter should have mentioned this before bringing something we did not want. They did take it off our bill however, I just would not have it ordered it if it was not as described on the menu.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank QCQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Hello there,

Thank you for the good feedback! I am so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. I do apologise about the cream mistake, it has been noted. We would love to have you dine with us again.

With kind regards,

Tom Brock

The Coach House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

21 of us sat down here tonight for a 3 course meal which turned out to be superb, the game terrine, as good as any french restaurant, the beef course, well quality meat always wins through and I had the xmas pud, not over heavy. Those who chose the apple pudding and the chocolate cheesecake with orange ice cream were similarly challenged, ' cant finish it dave, too full' . Full marks. Oh and Thwaites beer in good nick too. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidSmall1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Hello,

I would like to say a big thank you for the wonderful review you left. It is very much appreciated. I am so pleased you had a great evening with us and that the food was good! Please do come back!

With kind regards,

The Coach House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,687 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 44 in Chester
762 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 44 in Chester
1,177 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House Inn

Address: 39 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £80 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House Inn provides luxurious, affordable accommodation in Chester city centre. The eight bedrooms have been refurbished this year to a high standard, providing comfortable, convenient accommodation for our guests.Located next door to the architecturally acclaimed town hall and opposite the famous Chester cathedral, The Coach House provides a perfect base from which to explore Chester and Cheshire. All rooms are non smoking with ensuite and have tea and coffee making facilities, colour televisions, direct dial telephones and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Coach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Chester
The Coach House Inn Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing