We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday lunch”

Ye Olde Custom House Inn
Ranked #126 of 554 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Saturday lunch”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The food was very nicely presented. I had a sandwich Chicken with Herb Stuffing which was fresh and tasty and the waiter and bar staff were all polite and friendly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    36
    16
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Visited Chester for one night with plans to go to several places but couldnt bring ourselves to leave! Food was excellent great burgers & hot dogs! Staff very friendly & helpful. My boyfriend enjoyed the real ale very much. The atmosphere on a Saturday night was fantastic with a good mix of music. We will be back :-)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RGreen08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Custom House Inn”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A great Pub with lots of old oak beams, good food and drink. The staff were warm and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Excellent value for the money. We'll be going back again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nigel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Me and my boyfriend went to chester for valentines weekend and spent all Saturday night in here it was perfect!!!! I had the mushroom burger topped with Stilton cheese which was a great idea for a meal was delicious and for £6.10 was just right! Staff were lovely will be coming back here again really enjoyed it :) was a beautiful pub being old and modern at the same time :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't bother, save your money.”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We went here for breakfast, not good. It took ages to come considering we were the only people in there, it looked better than it was. The bacon was like an overlooked flip flop, the sausages had been deep fat fried and the toast was cold, as for the chef, I wouldn't advise they ever go on safari as he couldn't even poach an egg!! I would expect this in a greasy spoon but not a pub that is trying to be upmarket. Big fail.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dazspades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde Custom House Inn also viewed

 

Been to Ye Olde Custom House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing