We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice pub where you can eat well and sit outside.”
Review of The Coach House

The Coach House
Ranked #106 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: US$16 - US$39
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Coach House is a Chester restaurant serving home cooked, traditional British food with a modern twist. We pride ourselves on always giving the highest quality we can, from our service to our food and even in our beer.We feature Daniel Thwaites beers and regular guest ales, often from local breweries. Our wine list is supplied by James Pickup wines and we also sell our wine of the month.Our full menu is available all day from 12 noon, and our lighter bites menu is served between 12 and 6pm
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A nice pub where you can eat well and sit outside.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Visited with family yesterday and had a few drinks after a meal in a nearby restaurant. The pub was very busy, lots of people were taking a late lunch or coffee and the outside seating area was packed. I didn't eat but the food looked very good and the service was fast and efficient. Staff friendly and helpful as ever.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnEF33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    89
    28
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
420 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Good meal at The Coach House”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We chose The Coach House for our first restaurant meal in Chester and had a fine meal. It's right in the middle of the action in City Center and we were greeted and taken to a table quickly. There was a large selection of appetizers , beers and wines but we went strait for the entrees. We enjoyed Fish and Chips, the catch of the day, a baked mackerel and Chicken Cordon Bleu. The meal arrived in adequate time and the service was good. All the meals were good but the ChickenCordon Bleu was the best. I highly recommend it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KBD87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Coach House Meal”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A lovely evening was had by all. My gluten free requirements were catered for (I rang beforehand to discuss, and they were very helpful). Carrie looked after our table, and was an absolute superstar. Many thanks to her!

Helpful?
Thank MarkandCath
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointment”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

After 17 years visiting this establishment on our holidays, we finally called a halt in disappointment and frustration. Despite the great efforts made by the lovely, friendly and courteous front of house staff, the chef would not bend. He insisted that I had to take the meal as per menu. Thus I wound up with a meal that I could not eat, but paid for and voted for with my feet. I will miss all the friendly staff, particularly Inge and Tom, but I will never put my digestive system through such abuse again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerry-o-reilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“customer service”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Called in for lunch with four french friends,there was no tables free outside but the waitress showed us a range of tables inside which were all suitable,they took our drinks order straight away,returned a few minuets later for our food order.The food was served very quickly,was piping hot,and very nice.The staff were all very pleasant,helpful,and polite,great customer service! We have noticed at most of the places we visit that customer service has greatly improved from what it was even 5 years ago.Can it be the trip advisor effect starting to work?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jellyfish14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coach House also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing