We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Commonhall Apartments
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Just got back from a weekend in chester. stayed in the 2 bedroom Barlow apartment. Absolutely beautiful....great decor in every room. Everything included to make you feel you are home from home. Roslyn was so helpful from the start. apartment position is spot on, right in the middle of the action. so much better than an impersonal hotel room

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

BEWARE, BEWARE, BEWARE before booking here. Check the fine print. I am very disappointed with the correspondence from Roslyn. After the initial (quick) response to our enquiry in April for a December stay, then a deposit being taken from our credit card, we found we needed to cancel. We emailed Roslyn two weeks later to cancel (in May, SEVEN months in advance) and received no reply. We sent a further three emails (surely three emails cannot get lost in cyber-space????). And here we are on 20 August, with a reply stating that if we read the fine print, it is a non refundable deposit. It is very disappointing. I can understand that a last minute cancellation warrants loss of a deposit, or even three months in advance - but SEVEN months notice and no word from her for three months???

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank 478Happy_Lisa478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We booked this apartment for a weekend in Chester for the races - perfect central location and beautifully apartment - very classically decorated and all mod cons - will be booking again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K11MYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed at The Rows apartment for a long weekend in Chester. Roslyn was brilliant and could not have been more helpful. The apartment was comfortable, roomy and secure. We had everything we needed including a parking space nearby. The location was amazing, above "The Rows" shops overlooking the busy pedestrian area of Bridge Street, we just had to walk down the stairs and there we were in the middle of Chester. The apartment had secondry double glazing which meant it was quiet and peaceful inside, but we loved to open the windows and have the hustle and bustle of the city coming in through the open windows.
When we return to Chester this will be the top of our list.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Central location - seconds from city centre. However, it is quiet and peaceful with no traffic noise. Apartment has everything I needed for a comfortable stay including car parking. It was warm and cosy and has all the cooking facilities you could need (not that you would need to cook with The Pelican next door!).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

From the moment of engaging with Roslyn to book the rooms, she bent over backwards to make sure everything was exactly as we wanted it. Nothing was too much to ask and she delivered on everything that we needed and then some. The apartment is in a superb location right in the city center, making site seeing by foot possible. Car parking was available nearby very reasonably priced. The rooms were decorated to a high standard and all of the necessary facilities and then some were available. Highly recommend for a long or short stay, we will be back in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Very Good Apartments. stayed in both the cottage and the loft. personally i preferred the loft due to the open plan setting better suiting my preferences but the cottage is also very pleasurable. very close to all shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Personally preferred the loft
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,780 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,182 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
7.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
413 reviews
8.7 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commonhall Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commonhall Apartments

Address: Commonhall Apartments 2 Commonhall Street | Markethill, Chester CH1 2BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Chester
Price Range: £65 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique 4* luxury 1&2 bed apartments in the heart of Chester Old City within the walls. Your opportunity to stay in a recently restored 400 yr old building retaining all the character and charm with luxuries for modern living. Relax and look out the window to unique views down over the Famous Rows. Perfect location for city weekend break, holiday or business, steps away from shops, restaurants and tourist attractions. WiFi internet access. Minimum stay 2 nights. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Commonhall Apartments Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing