We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”
Review of Handbridge

Handbridge
Ranked #155 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Not bad”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Nice atmosphere, reasonably priced average food.

Staff were over attentive whilst we were eating, then disappeared when we wanted to pay.

Overall not bad but there are much nicer places to eat in the city centre.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 27Kate27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    38
    10
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A proper friendly pub”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We thought of seeing in 2014 in the handbridge as we always see old faces and a really great welcome from the owner (Alison) and staff. Saw the new year in with great friends and acquaintances.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tamdy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grumpy owners!”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Lovely location and good beer garden but don't expect to be greeted with a welcome. I've had no problems with the bar staff but too many times now have I been let down by the managers/ owners of this place, the Basil Fawltys of Handbridge! It's actually the people who are running this place who are the problem. Last night, having booked a table for 4, we turned up with 5 people only to be told in no uncertain terms that they could not accommodate an extra person despite the restaurant being only half full. Miserable and grumpy is how I would describe the delivery of this message to us. Luckily, The Ship were happily able to find a table and feed us even though we hadn't booked and they were very busy. On another occasion, I've been told that I couldn't plug my laptop in when I went to use their wifi with my cup of tea despite this being advertised on the board outside. Another occasion again, went with a group of friends for food. Food was delivered and we stopped the manager to ask for some sauce to go with our food only to be told she was too busy to get this for us. Finally, a friend tried to book a table one evening for food using his tastecard but was told by the same manager/ owner that she'd had enough of tastecards for that day and wouldn't take the booking! I don't feel that I can keep giving them chances and constantly feel let down which is a shame because food is okay.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely little village.”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We often park in this locality when visiting Chester as it is lovely to walk along the Dee here and there are some really nice unspoilt pubs to make a pit stop before heading home. The more touristy and busier part of central Chester is 'so near and yet so far'.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TringWirral_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little gem of a restaurant!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We had dinner in this restaurant last Wednesday, using our Tastecard. Lovely atmosphere, very good service and delicious food. The barman/waiter was attentive without being intrusive which was greatly appreciated. The food was out of this world. I agree with a previous reviewer, we shared the baked Camembert and it was plenty for a starter. My prawn and chicken paella was just perfect with plenty of prawns and seafood. Other dishes were equally as good, our compliments to the chef. Unfortunately, it was our last night in Chester otherwise we would have certainly eaten there again. I definitely recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Handbridge also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Handbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing