We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“uneven score but worth a visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joseph Benjamin

Joseph Benjamin
Reserve with OpenTable
Joseph Benjamin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 548 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“uneven score but worth a visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Towards the end of 2010 we paid two visits to Joseph Benjamin and were mighty pleased with the food, prices, ambience and friendliness of the staff. However, just before Xmas we returned for a Xmas Dinner which was very poor: reheated thinly machine sliced turkey, stale tasting roast potatoes [again reheated] flavourless stuffing and indifferent Xmas Pud. Our disappointment was great - this was less good than a standard works canteen Xmas Dinner. Despite this we plan to return to sample the non-Xmas fare again before writing the place off as not worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    152
    36
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Cheshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Brilliant new menu for a brilliant start to the new year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Although we are regulars and I have reviewed previously I do have to say "thank you" to Joe and Ben (plus all the staff) for starting us off the way we mean to continue in 2013. A super new menu - along with some of our favourites - well done Joe.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roamingdolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Got It Right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

Second time visiting JB's and about time to write a review.
Essentially a little different with some unusual items on the menu you will rarely find elsewhere.
Everything cooked to perfection on each occasion with good and attentive friendly service.
Wine list excellent although perhaps missing a budget bottle.
Being open during the day for brunch items as well give a bistro feel although ambience is good either for lunch or dinner.
Will become a Chester regular I think.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveJuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Twice in one day!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

Just happened to pop in for a couple of coffees and a light breakfast after a long walk around the wall and so impressed we decided to go back for lunch.

We found the first visit during the morning very welcoming and the lunch visit equally as welcoming and friendly. Very busy at lunchtime but service prompt and efficient with what I would call an average wait time. We ordered pheasant and roast pork, both very tasty, well presented with more than ample portions. Also available, a nice selection of fresh bread to take away.

I have to say Cheshire cider isnt the same taste as your 'standard' cider (probably better described as more of an acquired taste) Also no custard available with any desserts!!!!

Cost a bit above the average but, despite this we would definately go back next time we visit Chester.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Herodsfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Fantastic meal yesterday. All elements - great quality coffee, excellent pilsner and really high quality ingredients in the dishes. Well presented food - we had the smoked mackerel and a sharing board. Fantastic.Brilliant service too. Will definitely go again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinHilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joseph Benjamin also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Joseph Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing