We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shanghai Restaurant

The Shanghai Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 548 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Nice restaurant with friendly staff. Food was very nice and the portions were fine. I would recommend the duck with Cointreau. On Hoole Road where there are lots of guest houses and hotels so easy to get to. It was busy so it might be worth making a reservation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank redpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    76
    24
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was the best Chinese food I've ever eaten. We popped in on the off chance as we were staying across the road, and although we hadn't booked we were quickly found a table for an hour. This was ideal as the service was friendly and efficient an hour was plenty of time!
The food was presented beautifully and tasted amazing.
The staff were all so friendly and polite, especially the young lady who giggled at us making rude shapes out of the napkins!
Overall a fantastic restaurant, well worth the expense for such beautiful food and service that was second to none.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PolPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I've been here a couple of times with work (as it's the bosses favourite Chinese) and we normally have a set menu. This time my husband and I came. The staff and owners are very friendly and were happy to change the duck on the set menu, however we did not opt for this in the end. We had the lamb pancake rolls which we've never had before and they were amazing. The hoisin sauce is the nicest we have ever had. The dishes are large (way to much for us to eat but I suppose having two starters didn't help!). It's not the cheapest (£62 for 2 starters, 2 mains and 2 sides with a couple of drinks and I think because of this it'll be a 'treat' when we go again rather than a Chinese regular.
Well worth a visit

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Felicity L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We booked to come here for my partners birthday with family and friends (8 of us in total) as we had never been here before and saw it had great reviews so thought we would try it out. We are so please we did because we are sure to be back again and again.The menu is great and loads of choices with the set menus. We changed a couple of dishes as one of our party had an allergy to shellfish which was no problem for them. The staff are very helpful and friendly. It has a great atmospere and loads of room between tables so you dont feel on top of others which you get it some restaurants. The food was fabulous and nothing was wasted. The only thing is that it is expensive so that would be my only negative.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemma and mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We wandered by this place and thought we would give it a try, we were not disappointed. Service was excellent and the restaurant was clean and spacious. The prawn crackers were the whitest I have seen. Usually we cannot finish a Chinese meal but this was so lovely every little piece was eaten. This was not the cheapest Chinese meal I have had but it was certainly worth paying that little bit extra for.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 360Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shanghai Restaurant also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Shanghai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing