We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST B@B”
Review of Rowland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rowland House
Ranked #20 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
LINCS
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“THE BEST B@B”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the lovely Rowland House. From the minute you arrive the owner Beryl makes you so welcome and nothing however small is to much trouble for the more then helpful Beryl. Fantastic super large bed massive on suite and so clean. The great cooked to order breakfast, cereal or fresh fruit selection will set you up for the day. I have stayed here before whilst visiting daughter at the local university and am already planning my next visit later in the year. Arrived very late on first evening due to taking in a show at Liverpool but Beryl was more then happy to stay up late and greet us and show us to our room. No problem parking and only a short walk into the historic town of chester.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TUDDSLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beryl R, Owner at Rowland House, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thank you once again for a great review, so pleased that you enjoyed your overnight stay, short but welcome after a long journey, not many more as the University course comes to a close,
I have you booked in for the graduation, so I will see you all in November if not before.
Have a great Summer (weather wise)
Take care.
Beryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
84
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My wife and I, along with another couple of friends, have just returned from a stay at the Rowland House, Chester. From the moment we arrived and greated with a warm welcome at the door by propriator, Mrs Beryl Rowland to the time we ate our hearty breakfast, and left, she provided nothing less than a first class service. The house and rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable and as my wife says in addition to all the normal facilities, 'It has all the little extra touches you require'. Beryl has a wealth of knowledge about the city and gave us a full update on local restaurants and places to visit. The house is very convenient for the city centre and parking is available - A little Gem

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beryl R, Owner at Rowland House, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thank you for your great review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us,and that you brought fantastic weather with you for that week-end.
Then to put the icing on the cake, a great day at the races was had by all.
So if ever you return for another flutter on the horses, or for a shopping trip, I hope that you will come to stay with us,
Many thanks.
Beryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langres, France
Level Contributor
405 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Beryl welcomed us perfectly in her nice house, only a few hundred meters from the historic downtown. Easy to find with a convenient private car park. The last 5 miles were under a strong rain so we were badly wet. No problem Beryl took our motorbikers jackets to put them in the drying room, so kind of her. She had not been rude at all like some B&B "host" who are so disappointed when they open the door to bikers. Sorry about that, we are in England and rain is part of the life !
Room is large, very well equipped, top clean and the beds are comfortable.
Beryl cooks a full English breafast well done which covers the needs of two French bikers until the evening, no needs to have any lunch after such a magnificent breakfast.
Chester downtown is very interesting, especially, ramparts and "little big ben" a place with many tourists doing pictures.
Next time we will drive to North West of UK, we will spend more time in Chester, and without any doubt, will have a stay in Rowland house. We sincerely recommend

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudius C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beryl R, Owner at Rowland House, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you both for your kind review,It was a pleasure to have you stay, I enjoyed our conversation at breakfast time, as we resolved the world financial situation. I hope that the weather improved as your journey progressed, and that it was not to wet in the Lake District, did you manage to get all of your road racing done in the Isle of Man, and a visit to the Laxey Wheel.
The weather has not improved since you where here just more rain, but hopefully when you return to the UK the SUN will show it's face.
Best wishes.
Beryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

If Beryl has a room available, I know I will stay with her and not somewhere else. She is an amazing hostess who does all she can to make you feel welcome and special. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and airy. Her breakfasts are exceptional with fresh fruit for a variety of cereals and hot entrees cooked as you request. The garden in front is lovely. When we were there, Beryl had planted bulbs and they were all in bloom. The location is also very convenient for the University as Rowland House is only a short walk from it. I think this is one of the best B&Bs I have stayed in--and Beryl really makes your stay at Rowland Houe a special experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparrowssong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beryl R, Owner at Rowland House, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you Alexis and Scott, for your kind review, over the period of time which you have been coming to stay with me 4 years, I feel that you both have become more than just visitors, but close friends,I am so glad that you have enjoyed all of your trips, not only to Chester ,but also to the other places which you have visited while in the UK, I look forward to may be seeing you both again some time next year, depending on how things go for you.
Best wishes and good luck with your EXAM.
Take care
Beryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2013

After frequent stays in B&Bs and hotels in Chester when visiting relations, we have found the one we intend to return to, time and again. Our room in the the Rowland Hotel was cozy and comfortable and the owner, Beryl, goes out of her way to ensure you enjoy your stay.
Location is excellent but I had to reserve the last "star" in this category for the 5 AA star Grosvenor Hotel, right in the very centre where we once stayed for a special occasion. However, overall, Beryl has got the Grosvenor beat - hands down!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beryl R, Owner at Rowland House, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
WOW, what can I say, but a great big thank you for your fantastic comments,they are much appreciated, it was a pleasure to have you both stay with me, and I will try to ensure that you will be offered the same room next time you come to visit, so pleased you where able to cope with the demolition all around us, and that it did not spoil your visit in any way, I will send you the pictures as soon as the landscaping is finished, enjoy your Holiday in Italy and I hope to see you both later in the year
Oh there are baby penguins at the zoo so you may be back sooner than you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay at Rowland House . This is far more than a bed and breakfast ,The location so close to the university was ideal and it was only a five minute walk into town . The accomodation is first class immaculate throughout and the owner Beryl was very helpful and made us feel at home nothing was too much trouble . The refreshment tray in our room was so well stocked and all toiletries were provided even down to cotton wool and facial wipes . The breakfast was delicious . Even when we had checked out we were still able to leave our car for the rest of the day . We will not be looking to stay anywhere but here on our future visits to Chester

Room Tip: Room 2 had a enormous comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brynmawr, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2013

on a few occasions we have stayed at rowlands house we have had the most wonderful of welcomes from mrs rowland.the rooms are very clean and a lovely breakfast.we stayed here because our son is studying at chester universirty and the B and B is walking distance of all amenities,and will be staying there again most definitely.
tracey and neville smith and mark hoskins

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brookside Hotel
Brookside Hotel
#22 of 44 in Chester
400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Chester Stone Villa
Chester Stone Villa
#2 of 79 in Chester
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowland House

Property: Rowland House
Address: 21 Walpole Street, Chester CH1 4HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rowland House Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing