We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice”

Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: http://www.chestertourist.com/pubs_rectory.htm
england
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We went here for a group team night out from work , Service was great and its a lovely building and setting inside. Food was nice and we all really enjoyed it all, Would recommend and would go back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank carolinebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    9
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

six of us were out for a night out in Chester on a Saturday evening, i had heard decent things about the rectory. So i persuaded my friends this would be a good place for a casual bite to eat, the outlook is very nice decor, well lit, modern. The down side was that at eight o'clock the place was virtually empty, this unfortunately stayed this way up to 9 when we left.
The waitress was helpful, the menu ok , nothing to rave about. The food was also just ok , nothing over the top, but just a little more effort & the visit would drag you back, but i don't think we would visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnycroft31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not brill for afternoon coffee and cake”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Advertised on a board on the street was coffee and cake for £3.50.
The cakes we were expecting to be homemade or at least on a menu. We were quite dissappointed to find they were in packets on the bar.
We left the cake and just ordered the coffee - which was very nice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Let Down”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Having paid a deposit for a hen night and being promised a private room and DJ we arrived to be pushed upstairs to a room which was no better than community hall with no bar and that smelt musty and damp.Later told that nobody was expecting us and that they could not accomodate us. Very disappointing for us and especially the bride to be!!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mandyl451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful service”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Having booked and given a deposit for a party of 40+, with them arranging a private dj etc upstairs we arrived and were sent upstairs to find it smelt very musty, cleaning items still out, bar not open upstairs and none of the tables laid out. All seemed a bit strange but we ordered drinks but when we asked what was happening the staff didn't know we were coming! There was nothing arranged, there wasn't enough chefs on, no bar and no dj! When asked if they would be able to cater for us they answered no and we had them ring round town to find us somewhere else. All I can say is thank you Bollicini's who came to our rescue.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rectory Bar and Restaurant Chester also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing