We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveller reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveller reviews.

“Outstanding customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abode Chester
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

This was our second stay at the hotel, the first wasn't quite what we expected, and the beds didn't meet our expectations that had been set very high by the hotel's own marketing! However our second stay was excellent! The receptionist remembered us (Thank you!), the staff were friendly and courteous; breakfast service was prompt and polite and the bed was perfect! Can’t wait to go back! Don’t usually recommend places, because everyone has their own taste, however we can’t fault the Abode Chester. Brilliant!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmand0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    970
    609
    276
    81
    50
See reviews for
151
1,236
38
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed at the Abode Chester for my birthday in June.
It was a lovely place to stay and even though it was the cheapest room ours had a balcony overlooking the race course with magnificent views. The staff could not have been more helpfull and friendly.
It was in a great spot to visit all of Chester.
The only small downside was that I think if we had stayed more than one night we would have been pushed for clothes storage space and I do think the breakfast is expensive. We were lucky to get complimentary breakfast and parking.
We would definately go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East Coast
Level Contributor
291 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant staff overstretched; service poor; the amount of food wholly inadequate(dinner) -this, I cannot stress too much and some of it quite horrible, far too pretentious ; breakfast - leathery bacon and insufficient choice of bread, fruit and cheese, but the smoked haddock was nice and service good.No windows able to be opened in room so had to have noisy air conditioning on and I prefer fresh air; sink blocked before I arrived; no easy chair; insufficient storage for clothes. But the real problem was the TINY portions of food at dinner -for £24!! Nice view but you can't eat a view!!

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyPNorthEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Chester_Hotel, Manager at Abode Chester, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear Mrs G,


Thank you for taking the time to talk to me to discuss your feedback.


We strive towards a very high level of service and although I am pleased that you found the reception staff and service at breakfast friendly and good, I am very sorry that we fell short of our usual high standards in other areas.

Since opening a year ago, our restaurant has gained a very good reputation in the area, culminating in winning the Best Restaurant Award 2010 from Cheshire Life and I am very disappointed to hear that you did not have a good experience there. We have addressed the various issues you raised, and especially the portion size of the particular main course you described to me.

Regarding our rooms, we do have a number of rooms with balconies that are available on request and we are making changes to our bedroom furniture by adding more comfortable chairs.

As discussed, I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in ABode Chester & MC Restaurant on Fifth by visiting us again and we will make sure that you have a wonderful experience.

Kind regards,



Maarten van der Velde
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

One night stay - bedroom ok but lacking any armchair/ small table which were sacrificed to an over large standard lamp. Very average bath/shower products, no shower cap or cotton wool, no bathrobes, charged for bottles of water. Breakfast was overcooked and my request for gluten free toast produced half a slice after a 15 minute wait!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abode_Chester_Hotel, Manager at Abode Chester, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Dear Poppy 2104,

I am so sorry to hear that you found your stay at the ABode Chester disappointing. We work hard to ensure all our guests have a wonderful experience and I apologise for not living up to your expectations.

Following feedback from guests, we are in the process of ordering more comfortable chairs for the rooms. Our bathroom products are carefully selected by our head office but grooming products are of course a very personal choice and I am sorry that they were not to your liking. I apologise for the absence of a shower cap, it should have been provided in your room. Cotton buds and bath robes are provided in our Enviable and Fabulous rooms only.

Lastly, we cook our English breakfast to order and there is no excuse for it to be overcooked. We pride ourselves on our ability to cater for dietary requirements and we bake our own gluten free bread, which should have been provided generously. I have taken this up with our Executive Chef to ensure we improve in that area.

Thank you for your feedback and I would appreciate if you could get in touch with me to let me know the details of your booking. I sincerely hope that you will allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in the ABode Chester and on that occasion, I want to personally make sure that you have a wonderful stay.

Regards,

Maarten van der Velde
operationsmanagerchester@abodehotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

I stay at lots of hotels on business and while I have stayed in plenty better it does what exactly you would hope it would do.
Good location, decent tech in rooms (incl free wireless) and good food.
I stayed in the second best room and while it was very comfortable it was a little cold in decor so not very homely.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spike1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

The hotel is nearly new so the rooms are still in good condition. We had an Enviable Room, which included a freestanding bath and wash basin in the bedroom as well as a bathroom with shower. The lighting behind the headboard was a nice touch. For some the beds may be a little soft. Both the bedroom and bathroom were large. The bedroom had a cd/mp3 player and LCD tv. The hotel is one quarter of a circular building so half the rooms overlook the centre plaza and the others overlook the main road and racecourse.

The only slightly odd feature is the need to swipe the keycard to access your floor, so you can't access another floor other than the reception or restaurant floors. Also the main lifts do not go down to the car park. There is a separate lift that appears to reach all floors. Car parking is available beneath the hotel in a secure car park. Staff are friendly and helpful.

The Michael Caines restaurant on the 5th floor is excellent. Try the grazing menue and ask the wine waiter to select matching wines. The breakfast is also excellent.

The ground floor Michael Caines bar & grill is also good, but has a limited menue. I recommend both.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golden-mole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Excellent last minute rate, £71, for a comfortable room with excellent bed and bathroom. No comfortable chair however.

Breakfast, at extra cost, was cooked to order and service was excellent; and well priced at £10.

Underground hotel car park also reasonably priced.

Good location for visiting the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Competency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#9 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Chester

Property: Abode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
Abode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing