We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel close to heart of Chester”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Leeds
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel close to heart of Chester”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The hotel is only a 5 min walk into the heart of Chester and has its own parking at 10 pounds a night. It's quite a stylish hotel so very minimal. Rooms were a good size,clean, only thing that let it down was the air con it was not working so it was quite cold on arrival. We did ring down twice to reception and they were not really very helpfull. If it had been any colder we would have asked to change rooms however I would of expected them to offer this on the second call.

Beds are extremely soft so probably won't be to some people's comfort. Bathroom was very clean and had a large walk in shower.

There is a champagne bar which was nice to have per dinner drinks before heading into Chester for food. It is expensive as you would expect and they also include a 12.5 service charge however we were happy to pay, but you don't have to if you don't want to. A lot of people also were going through to Michael Caines restaurant however we choose to sample Chester's food.

Michael Caines breakfast was very good, however there are also a lot of other cafes open if you want something a bit cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarlett-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    628
    291
    87
    52
See reviews for
162
1,280
39
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed for two nights at the Abode, in an "Enviable" room which was very comfortable for two adults and a four year old. The room was stylishly modern and very comfortable; although it was a little odd having no doors on the bathroom we were so happy with everything else that we ended up not minding that much. The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful, breakfast was delicious (included in the rate) and the location is great. The top floor restaurant has amazing food and special prices for hotel guests. We would happily stay again any time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pullogaroua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed for one night this week & we've stayed in lots of hotels in & around Chester. This was the best: comfortable bed, nice bed linen, spacious room, well thought out provision/storage of kettle, hair drier etc etc. Great shower room - again space & thought re mirrors, lighting & nice free shampoo's etc. We were lucky to have great view of the racecourse & historic buildings. We didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment about that. Staff all v. pleasant/efficient. We booked at short notice through Late Rooms & got an excellent rate.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pen1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I stay at this hotel every week, on business.
I'm continually impressed by the young, professional staff whose attention to detail and customer-orientation is outstanding. They make you feel welcome, important, and valued. What's not to like?!
Hotel decor is modern and crisp, restaurants are great with good, fresh food, and value for money is excellent.
There are more expensive places to stay in Chester, but the Abode wins my vote time after time.
Stay, and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SW19Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed in an 'enviable' room for 1 night. The bed was huge and very comfortable, the bath was gorgeous..... Enjoyed the complementary tuck box....only problem was the air conditioning did not work to start with, but reception soon sorted it for us.
Had one of the best cooked breakfasts I have had, just the right amount and served to you, not a buffet which soo many hotels seem to have gone for now. My only moan would be the view, we looked out over the back at the offices.... Ask for a view of the racecourse. Really close to town and soo quiet. Annoyingly the champagne bar and resteraunts were closed, nothing on website........ Ate at the cafe bar and grill, which was great, best steak I have eaten in a long time.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunloverMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

For my 60th birthday I was treated to a night in this hotel and a 7 course taster meal in the Michael Caines restaurant. The room was ultra modern, immaculate and well appointed. I loved it. If you have a look round you can find on street parking about 10 minutes walk away and save yourself a tenner.
The meal started with a glass of champagne followed by seven courses. The portions are small but by the time youve had all the courses its enough. The standard of the food was exceptional and the service friendly and attentive. Its not cheap but you get what you pay for and overall I rated the experience highly.
Its worth noting that on checkout they add a 12% discretionary service charge to your bill, I had it removed as we had already left a tip in the restaurant. ( This was not a problem.)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inside courtroom are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayBee1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed at this Hotel for one night back in September. We booked a comfortable room and on arrival were given the option of upgrading to a desirable for only £15 extra, so we did. The room, although beautifully decorated and clean was very small, we were told that in a desirable room you get a larger bed, but i am almost certain it was just a standard double, so was not impressed at all with the upgrade. We also had a balcony to our room (we stayed during the heatwave in Sept) , however it only had one chair and was very narrow, so it was neither use nor ornament really!
This aside the surroundings were lovely and we had a comfortable nights sleep. However the following morning after showering i got locked in the bathroom! The door handle broke so the door would not open and i was stuck in the bathroom for around 20 minutes. Upon checking out we they offered to waiver the upgraded room fee (£15), however we felt this a very poor compensation offering due to the humiliation suffered whilst the handy man shouts 'are you covered up love?' upon entering the bathroom with a crow bar!!
Breakfast was lovely, however slightly rushed due to the delay experienced in the bathroom.
Overall not overly impressed with the hotel.

Room Tip: Dont upgrade from comfortable to desirable- apparently you get a bigger bed and either a bath or a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah1232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,616 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,081 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.4 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Property: ABode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing