We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can not imagine a better place to stay.”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I can not imagine a better place to stay.”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I can not rate this hotel high enough....

We were married on 14th July and decided to take a city break in England (weddings are expensive!!) The four nights we stayed at the Abode were fantastic and have given us memories that will stay with us forever.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and EVERY staff member we came across were smiley and helpful. As well as having a great location (5 mins walk into the centre of Chester, and views of the racecourse) the rooms are spacious and have a touch of luxury to them.

This is the first time we have ever been to Chester (we would go back in a second there's so many nice places to eat; 'Upstairs at the Grill' & Hickory's Smokehouse being two of the best) but I can’t imagine a better place to stay!!

TIP: If you are staying here, pay the extra for car parking, it makes it so much easier.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    634
    295
    88
    54
See reviews for
164
1,294
40
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Ignore other negative comments ~ this is a great hotel. Very comfortable rooms, good food & extremely clean.

The reception team are extremely good as are the bar & dining staff.

All in all a great stay - Thank you Abode Chester - we will return.

Room Tip: Basic rooms are cheapest clearly but perfectly adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed here the nights of 13th & 14th of July, we had a desirable room.....I'm still trying to work out what was desirable about it!
I stay in many hotels each year for both business and leisure and believe me value for money wise this has to be the worst. I honestly can’t see how the room was worth the money, perhaps if you got a room here via a promotion or discounted then perhaps it could be worth the money but for the full price…..don’t bother, there has to be better hotels in Chester.
The prices for the items in the mini bar are extortionate, £1.75 for a very small bar of chocolate.
The only thing this hotel has going for it is that it’s close to the racecourse which is a 10 minute walk away but as for racecourse views….well…..it nearly has, you can see the most uninteresting part of the racecourse, the final bend. The hotel is just part of the whole building, the other parts being offices which have the full racecourse view so the hotel is facing the wrong way, that is, unless you like views of the castles car park, by the way, the castle is obscured by trees.
On the first night we had the taster menu in Michael Caine’s restaurant on the 5th floor, it was OK, we’ve had better and again it wasn’t worth the money. The food at the 1539 restaurant at the racecourse is far superior, the 1539 has a full view of the racecourse, the surroundings, service and as I’ve said, food, is far more superior……Michael, you should go there and taste some real cooking.
The drinks in the hotels lounge bar are expensive too; you’re better off going into the town and drinking at one of the many public houses.
Breakfast was OK, it was freshly cooked, that was the best part of the whole stay….leaving the hotel for home was good too!

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klaw0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed here one night whilst at Chester races. Lovely room, fantastic view. Really comfy bed and contemporary decor. However, bathroom could have been cleaner and towel rail fell off whilst grabbing a towel! Also, no bathrobes provided!
Room service was fine as was breakfast. Bit disappointed no complimentary newspaper which for £230 a night I expected.
I would stay here again but would hopefully get a better rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorkgal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We had previously stayed at The Abode in Canterbury, and thoroughly enjoyed it, so decided to try The Abode in Chester. From the moment we arrived we loved the hotel. Friendly welcome, easy parking, and best of all a wonderful upgraded room. We had only booked in for 2 nights but wish it had been 2 weeks! This is a beautiful hotel right next to the race course and within easy walking distance of the town and river. We had booked a See Chester package which included breakfasts and a meal in the Michael Caines Restaurant. Wonderful food, brilliant room, fabulous staff. Thank you all so much. See you again as soon as possible.
David & Linda Flemming

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpsydaisyEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I stayed here for a day with my lovely boyfriend.
Great hotel rooms in the city centre close to the race course. The parking is underground. The room we stayed in was fabulous with a comfortable bed, big picture windows and a great bathroom.
We didn't eat here as we didn't have time but it looked really nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sexyrobsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
714 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Quick summary: this is a sleek, very comfortable hotel. Easy walk to town center. On-site parking with reservation.

We stayed here only one night after we landed at Manchester airport for a trans-Atlantic flight. Chester is an easy half-hour drive from the airport, and makes for an easy jet-lagged transition to Great Britain.

Room 304 is very spacious and with a king bed. It felt like a suite, with spacious sitting area, sofa, and bedroom area. Nice bed and bath linens; bathrobes. All the amenities you expect of a good business-class hotel: coffee/tea maker, iron/board, small in-room safe, flat-screen TV, etc. The toiletries were especially nice and plentiful, although I can do without body lotions that smell like sicky-sweet cotton candy.

Large, luxurious deep bathtub and separate shower. Lots of nice towels. You have to be comfortable with glass walls separating the bathroom, i.e. you're on display.

Excellent, spotless housekeeping.

The staff throughout were great -- friendly, professional, and helpful.

We did not do Michael Caine's high-end restaurant, but ate an early dinner at the MC Cafe. This was pretty good, with a 10.95 pound 2-course special and other options -- mains to a burger. The bar seems to be a happening place for locals and visitors -- lively but not loud.

It's nice to have on-site parking (reserved in advance). It is easy to overlook the entrance on the first pass. Come in on one-way Nicholas Street, and look for a driveway with a discrete sign just before the hotel property.

Easy walk to the center of town, which was a gem to explore.

From what I can tell, all rooms would have a view either of the racecourse or the castle.

Only complaint: at this price point, it would be nice to get a complimentary newspaper, not just an offer to order (and bill) you for one. That feels nickle-and-dime pricing.

To sum: I'd be happy to stay here again, but would at least consider other properties, given the price point.

I stronly recommend Chester as a first (or mnore) night stay when arriving at Manchester, if you do not plan to be in Manchester. We were on our way to north Wales.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Property: ABode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing