We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a lovely experience.”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Lovely hotel , just a few minutes walk from the main town. WE have stayed twice now - in two different rooms, one a deluxe and a suite. Both times its been amazing. The staf are great the breakfast the next morning amazing. All the rooms are modern and bright and airy. The beds are amazing - i need one in my life!
We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachaeljanepr1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,940 - 1,946 of 2,202 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

lovely hotel, we arrived earlier than check in time yest due to going to the races, the hotel was busy, but we were still able to go to our room and had been upgraded, thank you abode! we had a fantastic room with a huge window at the front of the hotel, a louge area and an amazing bathroom, felt like luxury. we left to go to the races and had a drink in the hotel bar, lovely to sit outside and watch everyone walking to the races. we returned later and we were lucky enough to get another seat outside, the terrace soon filled up and the atmoshere was lovely. we had room service later which again was excellent. A fantastic hotel, amazing room, great service and lovely staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penny73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights in standard double. On arrival, staff were lovely, professional but very approachable. Threw our bags in room and didn't return until bout 8 ish when my husband noticed an awful smell from the bathroom.
We called reception and within 10 minutes were in an upgraded room and it was lush! Although, the original room we were in was superb. Do believe it was a technicality.
The staff, no matter what time of day or night, were absolutely wonderful.
This hotel, on appearance, is exceptionally lovely if that's a correct quote!!! But sometimes with that you almost expect a slightly pretentious surrounding. Not at all. Just a lovely welcome feel with a warm welcome.
I would highly recommend this Abode to anybody staying in Chester, even if you have no desire to stay in your room for more than a head down lights out.
Value for money...Yes.
Unforgettable stay....definitely.
Awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coops77Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel at the end of July with friends and had a great time at the hotel and at the outside theatre in Grosvenor Park. We took an opportunity to have a lunch with matched wines .. it was really good and a really great start to our weekend and it was also fizzy friday where you can get great value on some ''sparkling''. Our room was also very comfortable and had a great view taking in part of the racecourse. The staff are just delightful and make you feel so welcome.Whilst we were there thay were showing some people around for a prospective wedding and we all said what a great place to consider. We will definitely be coming back as both the hotel and Chester are just really great places to come to for a few days.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyB111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I arranged direct with the manager a booking for the Michael Caines restaurant as part of an overnight stay 10/08 to celebrate a very special occasion . Have just returned home after a very disappointing stay . When we arrived at reception there were a lot of wedding guests booking in at the same time , I soon found out that the wedding had exclusive use of the whole 5th floor making it unavailable for any other guests staying at the hotel . Now that is fine & really nice for the wedding party at a lovely venue but I was not advised of this until arrival at reception . This totally ruined what was supposed to be a celebration, part of it being a meal in the Michael Caines restaurant & using the Champagne bar & outside balcony for a few drinks on a beautiful sunny day . I had been looking forward to this for a couple of months .
I believe this to be very poor customer service . Had I known I could have booked another date .
Spoke to the manager who was very busy & had arranged a room upgrade for us prior to arrival & he did also offer to arrange a table at another Fine Dining restaurant in Chester but that was not what I wanted .
A table was booked for us in the MC Bar & Grill with a bottle of champagne .When we arrived in the evening the staff were absolutely run off their feet . We were not in a rush & had a lovely meal. At the end of the meal we hadnt had our champagne & decided to take it back to our room but waited so long to pay our bill that we just gave up & went to the bar . The waiter (who I now know is called Matthew) came to find us with the champagne , he had been to our room to see if we were there too before finding us in the bar . Great service from him as with all of the staff . Just too much for them to to do with limited numbers .
Now breakfast , total disaster . arrived at 9.55 & advised there was a wait for a table.Eventually taken to a table which wasnt set properly , no napkins, side plates or cups & saucers. Again not enough staff .So when toast & tea served there was nothing to put them on or in . Breakfast finally arrived at 10.45 . Food nice but I was just really wound up by the whole experience & didnt enjoy my very late breakfast . Again staff lovely & apologised for the delay .
We have been to the Abode Chester before & that is why we chose it for our special occasion . However upset that we didnt have the experience I was expecting . Very grateful for the room upgrade & the champagne , but this just shouldnt have happened . We should have been advised before re the restaurant situation & a room upgrade & a bottle of champagne did not make it better , also the breakfast situation put the "top hat " on it !!!!
I know that this is not the norm for Abode & may give it another go but will check first there is no wedding on !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amdlny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Hi,
Stayed at the Abode for the w/end of 4/8/12 for 2 nights to take in the Racing on the Sunday 5th(which was unfortunately abandoned due to the massive amount of rain that came down in an Hour!!!).
The Hotel is well situated and the staff are very pleasant and welcoming and seem very professional in what they do The room we had was lovely (with a view over the Racecourse) and it was spotlessly clean and very modern as you would expect. We ate in the Michael Caines Bar and Grill and the food was great and it was a very nice modern dining room looking out into the central atrium area. Car Parking is available under the Hotel itself and it seemed pretty secure with gated entry and exit and was charged at £10 a day. All in all the Hotel was a good experience and we will certainly stay there again and recommend it too.
Terry and Jean Burnley.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EltelEltelEltel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

stayed in the hotel on 3rd august until 4th what can i say it was brilliant the staff are so nice the room was pure luxury. my mother in law and me had afternoon tea in the lounge was lovely then that nite we had a meal in the cafe bar & grill the food was excellent

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshdawn39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,796 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,641 reviews
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £75 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing