We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Went there for a short business trip. Lovely room, great view of the racecourse, spacious bathroom, aircon pumping as much as you want and a bed you could sleep in 4 people in!
Only remark was the breakfast. Very nicely cooked and presented but if on the menu you have EggS Benedict, you'd expect more than one, I ate it in about 15 seconds!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view on the racecourse, it's soothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,863 - 1,869 of 2,134 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

Good parking below the hotel for which we were not charged. Lift up to reception where we were given cards needed for lift to upper floors, room access and electricity - very safety-conscious. Nice room with a great view over the race course. Smart and modern, really comfy beds. Did not try the food as we had other arrangements but when we return we will do as the restaurant looks appealing. No time for breakfast either but I believe they are good too. Small but adequate gym for a short break. Booked through last minute .com - a good bargain for such a hotel and in a prime spot where we were very close to river, shops etc but far enough away for it to be nice and quiet at night...best of both worlds!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1907Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

A group of us has stayed here for the past 4 years and it has always been great, this year was an un-cooridinated and unmanaged mess! We stayed for 2 nights, and from the minute we arrived in check in to leaving, it was apparent that the staff were too young and inexperienced to deal with your concerns/complaints, from something as basic as a room request change, to that of a prankster fire alarm/evacuation at 08.45! When checking out, the staff found our complaint amusing and still had a cheek to request the parking fee, even though all residents had been inconvenienced for the remainder of that morning/day due to the fire alarm! Don't get me wrong, the hotel and location is as described, however be wary for how you are treated, especially if you haven't booked direct with them!

Room Tip: Make sure any special requests or amendments are captured and verified by their reservations departm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Great hotel. Well located for both the centre and the race course. friendly and helpful staff. Carpark small but very handy if you can get in. The bar upstairs is great with a fabulous view of the race course (and does brilliant mojitos)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feedbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

My husband regularly stays at Abode for business and raves about it, and now I can see why. The staff are exceptionally friendly and professional. We had been upgraded to an Enviable room, which lives up to its name: the room is huge with a massive bed and uber-stylish open plan bathroom in the centre. Alongside the standard tea and coffee facilities is a well-stocked complimentary snack box. Everything is well thought out, from the most comfortable bed in the world to plug sockets in sensible accessible places (no scrambling under the bedside table to plug your phone on charge here). I loved it and just can't wait to come back. This is a hotel which feels different.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TillyOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed in a desirable room, which stated either bath or shower, if no bath, then a view of race course. We could see the race course, but through a tiny gap in the council offices and trees, so calling it a view is stretching the point! But as that wasn't that important to us, it didn't spoil anything, but think I would have preferred a bath.
Anyway, the staff are lovely and very helpful, our room was spacous and very clean. Little tray of crisps and nuts to buy, bit cheeky having to pay for a bottle of water though, ( I've stayed in cheaper hotels where a bottle of water was free in the room) . We ate in the MC 5 th floor , with grazing starters, it was very good. Tables abit close together though . Breakfast is in the same room, and very nicely done, lots of fresh fruit, then lovely cooked breakfast.
The position of the hotel is perfect, easy to find, under ground parking (£10 though), and a nice easy walk to the centre. Staff on the reception desk are really helpful with little maps of the centre, and good with advice.

In all a really nice place to stay, if you really want a race course view, double check. We would happily stay again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lucysmumanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed for a long weekend break over the bank holiday, Friday through Monday. The hotel is nicely located next to the racecourse and close to the town centre. (If you were going to a race meeting I don't think you could find anywhere more convenient.) It's easy to find. The room was excellent - clean and comfortable, good bed, swish bathroom, large flat screen tv, good selection of tea, coffee, etc. - in fact all you could want from a hotel room. Staff were first class, friendly and efficient. They had that magic trick of remembering my name and greeting me with it; this is a great way of making you feel wanted.

The star turn of the hotel is the Michale Caines restaurant. Staying for three nights we pretty much ate our way through the menu and every dish was excellent. This is top class cooking. The staff are also very knowledgeable and service was excellent. The wine list is very good with nice bottles at all prices. We had a US Pinot, a NZ Sauvignon Blanc and an Oz Pinot and they were all great and good value for money. (Breakfasts were also top notch.)

The only small improvement I an suggest for the hotel is to improve the signage for and in the car park. At the end of a long drive you don't want to have to struggle to find where to park.

This isn't a cheap hotel but at its price this is an easy 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Covenant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,700 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,414 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £83 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing