We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good setting, quirky + nice building/layout”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Chester
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good setting, quirky + nice building/layout”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This is very much an individual hotel. The actual hotel building structure is a half/third of a crescent shape around an inner courtyard. The ‘outer’ side of the crescent has room views onto the frontage opposite various handsome city buildings, law courts etc and the Chester racecourse. The inner rooms overlook a courtyard [modern/enclosed, trees etc.]. The experience here is all about design and quirks, which they achieve quite well. The underground parking is secure and easy to use, albeit when we arrived late evening I had to telephone the hotel to let them know that I was sitting in front of the security screen to the car park. It is genuinely a very well located hotel, few minutes into the city centre shopping and sights. The breakfast [main restaurant] is neat as an experience, on the 5th floor overlooking open scenes onto the racecourse, nice way to start the day. I don’t hesitate in recommending the Abode, but don’t expect a 5-star ‘typical’ / classic / traditional scenario city centre hotel, this is a good package but it IS individual and quirky. It happens to be ‘nice’ quirky, and a good experience that I will use again.

Room Tip: Room choice - race course view -
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,014
    640
    297
    89
    55
See reviews for
166
1,307
41
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llanfyllin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Nice hotel, good location but lacking in value for money. We paid £195 for the room and didn't feel we got our monies worth. We could have stayed at the Premier Inn and got the same standard for a fraction of the price.
Breakfast was ok but again nothing to shout about.
We reserved a parking space and had to pay £10 for it. Not many spaces and quite tight. Not ideal if you have a large SUV.
In general nothing really wrong just didn't get the 'WOW' factor we had hoped for.

Room Tip: Only the expensive ones face the race course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natbarnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed in a desirable room which, whilst being nice was not really anything special. Location was great, overlooking the racecourse and only a short stroll into the centre of Chester. On the whole our stay at this hotel was very pleasurable. However, we were expecting a little more desirability from our desirable room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed in a basic room on a Friday night and was pleased with every aspect of my stay.

Check in: the staff were polite, friendly, efficient, explained every step and ensured that you were aware of everything you needed to know including how to work the lifts.

Room: clean and well laid out. Everything you need - tea, coffee, iron and board, hairdryer, safe, tv, wifi, wired network points and air con. The bed wad big and comfy, if a little soft.

Bathroom: super clean, well laid out and spacious, the usual complimentary bits and bobs you'd expect all quirkily branded. The shower was superb.

View: mine was of the council offices however I don't book a hotel room with the intention of staring out of a window (though it was nice to relax whilst watching people hard at work!)

Smokers corner: for those of us social outcasts, there is a covered area at the front of the hotel that means you can enjoy a crafty cig without getting exposed to the elements.

Location: a short walk into the city centre to meet my friends for a meal and a drink. It is also no more than 5 mins walk from the majority of the attractions, shopping, bars and restaurants. It's location on the Walls means that you can take a more leisurely historical wander into the city if you want.

Sleep: quiet, very very quiet! Settled down with my cocoa and lemon curd cookies and was soon asleep!

Brekkie: I didn't go for it, but am assured it is good.

Checking out: a leisurely 12noon checkout is a blessing for those that want those extra hours in bed. The process of leaving the hotel was as friendly and efficient as check-in.

Parking: yes, you may have to pay but it is in a secure underground car park with it's own enterance to the hotel. Worth the fee for the convenience an peace of mind.

Overall: it is one of the more pricey hotels in chester, however you have the convenience of location and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slidingbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Went there for a short business trip. Lovely room, great view of the racecourse, spacious bathroom, aircon pumping as much as you want and a bed you could sleep in 4 people in!
Only remark was the breakfast. Very nicely cooked and presented but if on the menu you have EggS Benedict, you'd expect more than one, I ate it in about 15 seconds!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view on the racecourse, it's soothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Good parking below the hotel for which we were not charged. Lift up to reception where we were given cards needed for lift to upper floors, room access and electricity - very safety-conscious. Nice room with a great view over the race course. Smart and modern, really comfy beds. Did not try the food as we had other arrangements but when we return we will do as the restaurant looks appealing. No time for breakfast either but I believe they are good too. Small but adequate gym for a short break. Booked through last minute .com - a good bargain for such a hotel and in a prime spot where we were very close to river, shops etc but far enough away for it to be nice and quiet at night...best of both worlds!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1907Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2012

A group of us has stayed here for the past 4 years and it has always been great, this year was an un-cooridinated and unmanaged mess! We stayed for 2 nights, and from the minute we arrived in check in to leaving, it was apparent that the staff were too young and inexperienced to deal with your concerns/complaints, from something as basic as a room request change, to that of a prankster fire alarm/evacuation at 08.45! When checking out, the staff found our complaint amusing and still had a cheek to request the parking fee, even though all residents had been inconvenienced for the remainder of that morning/day due to the fire alarm! Don't get me wrong, the hotel and location is as described, however be wary for how you are treated, especially if you haven't booked direct with them!

Room Tip: Make sure any special requests or amendments are captured and verified by their reservations departm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,660 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Property: ABode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing