We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be happier”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed on a Wednesday night and we honestly cant recommend this place enough. We had our evening meal there which was beautiful and such good value for the 2 courses and bottle of wine.The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful on the reception as well as in the restaurant and couldn't do enough to help us. The room itself was perfect with some lovely little touches. I would certainly return especially for the beautiful breakfast. ;D

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotte c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,884 - 1,890 of 2,163 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

This hotel flatters to deceive, it looks good on the surface but underneath it feels over priced and un realistic of it's status as one of the best hotels in Chester. I stayed there this weekend with 4 friends in 3 seperate rooms, the rooms were desirable twins with breakfast included. Total price per room was £240 with an additional £10 for parking... Wow, if you set your stall out to be as good as the prices you charge then you need to fulfill that, the rooms were all a little boring, decor and furnishings were not what I would expect for this price. The bathrooms were on the small side, with over the bath shower, that didn't really deliver the power shower experience, more a trickle and a quick run around underneath. The bars and restaurant were both overpriced and badly served by staff. The breakfast was lacklustre, with very slow service and disparity between each of our breakfasts both in quality and quantity. However this was later comped on check out. In summary I feel that we were overcharged for the experience we received, I have stayed in far better hotels for less money ie. The Raddison Edwardian In Manchester for around £140, same star rating, but much better value. The Hilton in Chester (doubletree), is a much better hotel, and the comparisons on price for Friday and Saturday nights were £110 cheaper. Wish we had chosen the Hilton again. The massive plus point for the hotel, is it's location, it could not be better suited for Chester centre and the racecourse.

Room Tip: Go to The Hilton
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChesterGolfBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

nice location, staff could do with some manners, clean comfortable rooms. we had room on the top floor so views were nice but way too pricey,,,,breakfast was ok, but left you feeling hungry, drinks way too pricey, lovely pub just round the corner,

Room Tip: tip.....dont eat in restuarant, lots of nicer eaterees nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This is very much an individual hotel. The actual hotel building structure is a half/third of a crescent shape around an inner courtyard. The ‘outer’ side of the crescent has room views onto the frontage opposite various handsome city buildings, law courts etc and the Chester racecourse. The inner rooms overlook a courtyard [modern/enclosed, trees etc.]. The experience here is all about design and quirks, which they achieve quite well. The underground parking is secure and easy to use, albeit when we arrived late evening I had to telephone the hotel to let them know that I was sitting in front of the security screen to the car park. It is genuinely a very well located hotel, few minutes into the city centre shopping and sights. The breakfast [main restaurant] is neat as an experience, on the 5th floor overlooking open scenes onto the racecourse, nice way to start the day. I don’t hesitate in recommending the Abode, but don’t expect a 5-star ‘typical’ / classic / traditional scenario city centre hotel, this is a good package but it IS individual and quirky. It happens to be ‘nice’ quirky, and a good experience that I will use again.

Room Tip: Room choice - race course view -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Nice hotel, good location but lacking in value for money. We paid £195 for the room and didn't feel we got our monies worth. We could have stayed at the Premier Inn and got the same standard for a fraction of the price.
Breakfast was ok but again nothing to shout about.
We reserved a parking space and had to pay £10 for it. Not many spaces and quite tight. Not ideal if you have a large SUV.
In general nothing really wrong just didn't get the 'WOW' factor we had hoped for.

Room Tip: Only the expensive ones face the race course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natbarnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed in a desirable room which, whilst being nice was not really anything special. Location was great, overlooking the racecourse and only a short stroll into the centre of Chester. On the whole our stay at this hotel was very pleasurable. However, we were expecting a little more desirability from our desirable room.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed in a basic room on a Friday night and was pleased with every aspect of my stay.

Check in: the staff were polite, friendly, efficient, explained every step and ensured that you were aware of everything you needed to know including how to work the lifts.

Room: clean and well laid out. Everything you need - tea, coffee, iron and board, hairdryer, safe, tv, wifi, wired network points and air con. The bed wad big and comfy, if a little soft.

Bathroom: super clean, well laid out and spacious, the usual complimentary bits and bobs you'd expect all quirkily branded. The shower was superb.

View: mine was of the council offices however I don't book a hotel room with the intention of staring out of a window (though it was nice to relax whilst watching people hard at work!)

Smokers corner: for those of us social outcasts, there is a covered area at the front of the hotel that means you can enjoy a crafty cig without getting exposed to the elements.

Location: a short walk into the city centre to meet my friends for a meal and a drink. It is also no more than 5 mins walk from the majority of the attractions, shopping, bars and restaurants. It's location on the Walls means that you can take a more leisurely historical wander into the city if you want.

Sleep: quiet, very very quiet! Settled down with my cocoa and lemon curd cookies and was soon asleep!

Brekkie: I didn't go for it, but am assured it is good.

Checking out: a leisurely 12noon checkout is a blessing for those that want those extra hours in bed. The process of leaving the hotel was as friendly and efficient as check-in.

Parking: yes, you may have to pay but it is in a secure underground car park with it's own enterance to the hotel. Worth the fee for the convenience an peace of mind.

Overall: it is one of the more pricey hotels in chester, however you have the convenience of location and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slidingbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,751 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,543 reviews
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 45 in Chester
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £76 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing