We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This is a really excellent new hotel and is a really good addition to the city. Well situated and well designed. Parking is good (but not free) and the food is outstanding. My wife and I have become increasingly fussy with hotel/ service/ restaurant standards over the years (probably an age thing!) and this hotel impressed us both. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_jones25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,748 - 1,754 of 2,153 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

the design is original but practical every, plug is in the right place. Decent hairdryer and iron and board.The tv and video player work properly. You can change your pillows to feather if you prefer- reception so helpful-. restaurants great food.- sadly the michael caines restaurant and bar on top floor was closed su nday night so we had a great steak in the grill. Because we were going to a family gathering for lunch we didn't want a full breakfast on sun but did enjoy an excellent full english on mon with the most amazing view over the racecourse - excellent food and service. The only thing I would change are those awful coathangers
It was a 4 star but felt like a 5. The location couldn't be better 5 mins walk from centre of town but in a quiet location. Not sure how quiet it would be on race days. We will definately stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the racetrack. If you don't like heights ask for a lower floor as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Brilliant service - friendly, speedy, helpful and flexible! We use the Abode Chester for all our local accommodation needs and I always get good feedback. Rooms are gorgeous too! Nice small hotel with direct booking (rather than a call centre where nobody knows you and you have to repeatedly give all of your details!).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed at the hotel in Feb 2013 with my wife, sister and brother in law. Two rooms very reasonably priced, very comfortable, stylish and clean, with a view over part of the race course.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Two issues though, albeit small....with one of the rooms the sliding window/door to the balcony did not work, and the second, and the more important issue for myself and my brother in law!!!, was the lounch bar was unavailable on the Saturday night we were there, due to a private function. Although we had been in Chester for the evening we were looking forward to spending the rest of the night/early morning in the bar area.
Although we were directed to the champagne/cocktail bar on the top floor, the fact the draught beer was available in the lounge bar, we were left limited to bottles in the Champagne bar...a little disappointing, and more costly!!
If public areas of the hotel are not available at the time booked it would have been helpful to have known this prior or upon arrival.
Having said that they were very small minus points to what was a lovely weekend in Chester.
The hotel is a very short stroll from the centre, and we would recommend a stay.

We did not use the pool or spa so unable to comment.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Myself and my Wife went to Abode Chester Restaurant for her 40th Birthday.
this is a very simple review to write as the one word EXCELLENT describes all aspects of our visit including the decor, welcome, quality of service and staff and of course food.
It is not the cheapest by any means but as a treat absoloutley worth the money and we will be going again. Thanks very much to all involved with this restaurant.

Room Tip: Did not stay in the Hotel but if it as good as the restaurant I am sure you will be pleased. The res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This was the second time we had stayed at the Abode Chester. Both times were just what the doctor ordered. A quick getaway with a bit of luxury thrown in. Nothing like spoiling yourself after a busy time at work. Modern spotlessly clean room with everything you need. Service is as good as I have encountered in hotels of this standard. We also booked into Michael Caine's. Food and service were fabulous. Its expensive but the quality is there. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms are good if its all you can afford but the next level rooms were huge. either wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

I will return, room 411 was very spacious, the bed could have slept 3 adults as it was that big. Very good staff, the room only ( superior) cost £143, it was worth the money on the whole, underground car parking cost £10 this should be free to staying guests, but the car park is very safe and conveinient when you have a car that is vulnerable to Theives as I do!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rwt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,735 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,495 reviews
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £71 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing