We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent but for the music” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abode Chester
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent but for the music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Our first time after trying many of Chester's hotels. Many really good features. Food is excellent in the restaurant and the room service menu is very good too. View from our bedroom was lovely - across to Cheater Castle etc. Only thing that spoiled this stay was the incessant music especially in the restaurant. Would suggest a quiet area for those who don't want breakfast accompanied by Radio 2 and dinner in an otherwise excellent restaurant marred by intrusive wailing. Staff were invariably pleasant.

Room Tip: We stayed in 407 - brilliant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    598
    273
    81
    50
See reviews for
151
1,222
38
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Staff were really friendly. I splurged on the "Fabulous Suite" expensive, but stunning suite with an amazing bathroom/shower room. All snacks in the suite were complimentary as were the soft drinks. The large terrace had lovely views over the town and the racecourse. The bed was one of the best I've slept in anywhere. Abode has it's own underground secure car park. The town is a very short walk...less than 5 mins. I had room service...chilli & rice (not great) and a club sandwich (very nice).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbodeChester, General Manager at Abode Chester, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Adma1966

Thank you for your feedback, I look forward to welcome you at ABode again soon for another Fabulous stay.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will organise your booking for you.

Yours Sincerely

Christophe
gmchester@abodehotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed for 1 night over a weekend in a desirable room, room only.
Positives:
1. Parking easy and secure with lift straight to hotel. £10 per night which I think is cheap compared to other hotels I've stayed in (charge £15-£20). I had phonedto reserve a place just in case but on Saturday morning there was plenty of room there. You pass hotel and you'll see parking sign immediately to the left - follow signs and buzz intercom and the shutters will open.
2. Check-in was smooth and staff were friendly at desk. You use your card to access the lift (security) but always remember to have it out!
3. Room was spacious and clean with great amenities; tea and coffee, iron and board, hairdryer (a decent one that isn't permanently plugged-in in the bathroom), TV, lovely bath/shower items (hand cream, shower gel with lovely smell!) - shower wash is also a shampoo so no conditioner.
Our room over looked the courtyard which did back on to some offices so curtains were closed most of the time (even though I didn't see anyone there on a Sat, still felt a bit too close to be in full view), so maybe request a room with a view?
4. Had cocktails in the bar area at the top floor which has great views of racecourse and countryside as well as nice cocktails on the ground floor bar. Again, friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere

Negatives:
Decided to have breakfast in hotel the next morning and pay the £11.95 (again, this is much dearer in other hotels I've stayed in such as Hilton that charge £20). Buffet and cooked options. Buffet included pastries (no butter there) and cereals but they were placed on the bar area, which was ok but felt a bit canteen-ish? No plates available so had to walk back to table for side plate. No big deal, just small gripes really as the breakfast was a let down for me compared to the rest of the stay. Ordered tea which came no problem but no tea spoons so had to ask. Ordered toast and 2 full English and 2 vegetarian breakfasts. Waited 15minutes for them to come by which time toast was very cold. Full English was fine no issues but the veggie was very disappointing; no sausage as stated in menu. When questioned the response I got was "You should've been told there's no sausage left". No apology and no offer of anything else. I ordered toast as I only had an egg, some beans, half a mushroom and a tomato on my plate....oh and some spinach and a new potato cut into four!?! Toast arrived when I'd finished eating and was cold anyway. I rarely complain in hotels ( I've done once before-see review ;) ) but felt strongly that for £11.95 the veggie option wasn't even worth £3! Now, this is the difference and why I've given 5 marks for this hotel (as well as the room and overall experience). Manager was called, listened, remarked and agreed it wasn't acceptable, apologised several times and it was taken off my bill. Professional and understandable. So thank you for that!

I would most definitely stay here again; convenient to city centre, parking option is great, friendly staff, cool and clean rooms and lovely cocktails :) Looking forward to the next stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and not facing inward towards courtyard/office block
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymraes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Excellent one night's stay over the weekend-great room overlooking the racecourse with the biggest bed ever and so comfy!!!

The service we received from all the staff was first rate and the meal taken in the Grill was again excellent.

Location is ideal for Chester's shops etc and the £10 charge for Hotel parking is well worth the money.

Overall a great Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Spent one night at this hotel - part business, part pleasure. Great views from a lovely room. The car park is easy to access - nothing like the Krypton Factor from an earlier review! Staff extremely helpful and attentive. A great hotel for either mooching around Chester or visiting the racecourse - which will be our return visit. And sitting in the restaurant on the fifth floor looking at views of the Welsh hills is truly fab

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sheznez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed 4 nights. We asked for room with a view and were not disappointed to be on 3rd floor overlooking the racecourse.

Location, just inside West wall, is perfect as base for sightseeing. Suspect that would be extremely busy on race days!

Sarah on reception was brilliant. No porters, but Sarah was only too willing to transfer our luggage to/ from underground car park (which we thought a bit pricey at £10/day).

Excellent breakfast in B&B package.

The room was immaculate - everything to high standard - BUT:
No bedside cupboards/drawers, just a shelf
No armchair, not quite same to sit on the bed to enjoy the view
Had to contact reception to control aircon. So difficult to get it just right.

Room Tip: We had room 317, with racecourse view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Centrally located for a stay in Chester and right next to the racecourse. We had a great welcome and the room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The hotel is typically modern with a rather cold feeling main bar which feels like it wants to also cater for the Saturday night out crowd, however the bar prices probably preclude that. We much preferred the feel of the restaurants champagne bar, which gave a superb view of the surrounding area but oddly had less comfortable chairs than downstairs. Of note are the staff there who will mix you just about any cocktail. On the whole well worth a visit but don't expect it to be cheap.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Chester

Property: Abode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Prestigia and Hotelopia so you can book your Abode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
Abode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing