We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here for one night. Our room was spacious, clean and modern. The bathroom was lovely. We paid extra for breakfast which couldn't be faulted and the service was really good. The drinks in the bar were pricey but we expected this but as its only a 5 minute stroll from the city centre there are plenty of other places to choose from. We would definitely recommend this to others!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinandTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    628
    291
    87
    52
See reviews for
162
1,280
39
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Clean new rooms and bathrooms. Comfy beds and great views of the race course. What more could we ask for? The Hotel is a 5 min walk to town and the location cant get better. The staff was very nice and we had a very comfortable stay.

However, a minibar would have been nice.

Room Tip: Ask for the racecourse facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelIHKarachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed here previously in 2010 and this time was upgraded to an enviable room. Everything was first class, room was spotless, bed the most comfortable of any hotel I have stayed in, breakfast was included and first class also. A really enjoyable stay - will be back if we return to Chester!

Room Tip: We had our room facing the inside, overlooking offices but was no a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KinoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, Staffordshire, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed in one of their cheapest rooms (still £135 for B & B), which was clean, had a balcony looking over the racecourse but which was rather small. There was tea and coffee to make, but mineral water was extra and there was no fridge. The bathroom had a shower but no bath. The bed was very soft so be warned if you have back trouble.

We had a meal in the Cafe Bar & Grill and this was indifferent. My burger was tasteless and dry and the espresso had no crema. Service was friendly, though I hate the practice of automatically adding 12.5% to the bill.

The breakfast (£11.50) was excellent and made up for the evening before. This is served in the main restaurant.

The hotel's location is great with the river, racecourse and shops and all of Chester's other attractions within easy walking distance. I suspect the car park (£10 extra) would be full on a week day, so book this in advance. For our Friday afternoon arrival we had the empty council spaces as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here several times over the last few months and we've always found the stay pleasant and the room large and comfortable. The last room we had was 'enviable'. The room was large with a roll top bath and large shower, the bed was huge and the room was spotless.
The breakfast was great with nice views and the staff at breakfast were very helpful and polite. I can agree with a few of the other reviews about check in as one member of staff was not overly polite almost to extent of being rude to my wife.
Balcony with a view over the race course is nice as the sun sets that way but some rooms have a terrible view over a courtyard and office block.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandMBrammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here several times this year so this time decided to book one of the fabulous rooms, very impressed with the room and had a great time! As with all the rooms we have stayed in within the hotel the bed is probably the biggest and most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! Excellent service from all the staff from reception to the champaign bar fantastic! Had a great meal in the Michael Caine restaurant the food was delicious and the After dinner cocktails were fantastic! Keep up the high standard, can't praise this place enough! Can not wait for our next visit.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sheepy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Good points:
-Great restaurant (Michael Caines)
-Lovely big windows with nice view
-Massive bed
-Clean room
-Good location

Bad points:
-Not good value for money
-Extra cost for parking
-No fridge/mini bar
-No shampoo or conditioner, only all in one body wash (not what you expect for £190 a night!)
-Poor air conditioning - can only set to 19 degrees at lowest and with the sun pouring in through those big windows (that you can't open), it's a bit of a greenhouse, even in October!
-Only enough UHT milk for one hot drink each
-Very slow wifi (despite full signal)

Room Tip: Ask for views of race-course if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_tell_no_lies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,613 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,079 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Property: ABode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing