We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.....”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect.....”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend took me here for an overnight stay for my birthday and we both loved it! Had a card and complimentary choccies on arrival, the room was lovely - big, smart and comfortable! We had dinner in the Michael Kanes restaurant which was fab, very stylish and fancy and the staff very attentive our waitress was filling my wine glass up every 5 mins - not that I was complaining! The hotel was also conveniently placed near to quite a few of the bars....I would thoroughly recommend Chester!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nic_Fletcher1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,014
    638
    297
    89
    55
See reviews for
166
1,306
40
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My wife and I visited Chester for the first time recently and stayed at the Abode. Lovely room, great views, excellent service for the most part. One little quibble would be that the barman could do with a bit more training on customer service and product knowledge but that's a counsel of perfection. We weren't warm enough to begin with but we soon had a heater installed until the air conditioner kicked in. Breakfasts were just what we needed and all one could ask for. Didn't eat in in the evening so can't comment on the restaurant for dinner.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view over the racecourse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel. The staff were very welcoming. The room was pleasant and had everything we wanted. Light and airy. Nice view of the racecourse. I did ask for the duvet to be changed, it wasn't up to standard, this was done right away. We had a couple of drinks in the bar. Pleasant, dim lighting and romantic. We didn't have the Breakfast, always think large hotels charge too much. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frillyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Probably over a little priced , we had a desirable room, though i must admit it was smaller than I anticipated probably because we had a balcony but very clean and nice view over the castle, very friendly staff. Breakfast was very nice but start and finish were brought forward to allow a for a wedding fayre 0800 till 1000 was a bit early for a lazy Sunday morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebalshaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

just returned home from a fantastic weekend at the abode chester could not fault the place. Our room was lovely with a really big comfortable bed, the bathroom was great overall the room was very very good. The staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfasts were very tasty. This is a hotel that we would go back too and will be recommending it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights and was really impressed.

Warm welcome when I arrived at 11pm after a nightmare journey.

First impressions are great, the communal areas are nice and fresh, rooms are really big and well equipped - standalone bath in the bedroom area looks brilliant. Wifi in the room is fast and free.

Food was really nice, service is friendly, professional and welcoming.

Bar area is nice and drinks are reasonable.

Very central location.

Only annoying thing was the parking charge. Other than that a cracking hotel.

Room Tip: 118 is really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanmac1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel as an anniversary suprise for me and my husband.first of all some people mentioned finding the car park awkward,this wasn't the case as we found it straight away.Once booked in we went to our room,218 which was very bright and large(we had desirable),we did wonder wether we wanted a balcony though,so my husband went to ask at reception.she explained that the only 1 left was overlooking towards the city and it wouldn't b a problem if we wanted to go and look...and ov course we did but on entering the room didnt have the same feeling as the one we were given,the room was lovely and spotless but u lost alot of space just to have a balcony which only just fitted the width of a chair....so we stayed in 218.the whole staff team from reception to the restaraunt and cocktail bar were polite and helpful and made a break away from the kids wonderful....the breakfast is lovely too and get lots if choice.eggs benidict is a good choice also!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbeechLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,658 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#13 of 44 in Chester
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Property: ABode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing