We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Anniversary Stay!”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous Anniversary Stay!”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed here for the second time to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We booked what we thought was a deluxe room through Booking.com but on arrival it turned out to be a standard room; this was caused by Booking.com not using the same room descriptions as the hotel.
However, after speaking to Reception, a helpful young lady (Ellie) kindly showed us two other rooms, one of which was a fabulous luxury room, which just wowed my wife! Ellie even gave us a favourable rate for this room to compensate for our initial disappointment.
The bed was huge and it was the most comfortable we had ever slept in! Not only did we have a walk-in shower, we also had a roll-top bath in the bedroom - great to relax in after a hard days shopping! There was also plenty of hot water and the towels were large and soft. Our room had very effective air conditioning and heating. The safe was large enough to hold a laptop and simple to use. The room was cleaned to a very high standard.
Our only slight criticism of the room would be that the hospitality tray needed a few more teabags and milk cartons and complimentary bottled water would be a welcome extra in a room of this standard.
Breakfast was extra with a wide choice of both hot and cold options, although perhaps a little pricey. Our only slight criticism of breakfast was that at times bowls and plates were not cleared efficiently despite there being plenty of staff on duty.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our second stay and would recommend this hotel but consider upgrading to one of the better rooms as they are well worth the money. We enjoyed our stay so much that we stayed an extra night!

Room Tip: Consider upgrading - the rooms are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orreller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    634
    295
    88
    54
See reviews for
164
1,294
40
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Rooms not great showers only, there was no bath.
Over priced rooms for the size - there are far nicer hotels in Chester.
Senior receptionist extremely rude on checking the bill the next morning even the junior was embarrassed.
Breakfast is ok if you want to wait a lifetime for it .
I would honestly not rush back here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed several times now at the Abode in Chester and again it's high standards haven't failed to impress.
This is a very trending hotel and the Champagne bar on the 5th floor is treat if you're feeling generous.
Restaurant is also a very good standard.
I would recommend this hotel.
Well placed for the race course.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Not worth the money. Very expensive 2 courses with an average bottle of wine for 2 people costing over £110 approx. Courses were very small we both rose from the table still hungry.
Would not eat there again.
Room was fine, clean , good view etc but again overpriced.
When leaving found info regarding a deal where for the cost that we had paid for the room alone for one night (we spent 2 nights) we could have had flowers on arrival, 2 glasses of champagne a 3 course meal plus bed and breakfast. Rather gutted we were not offered this as it was my husbands birthday.
Very disappointed considering I had explained to staff it was a special occasion.
Think it is ridiculous being asked to pay £10 daily for parking considering the cost of the room.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel if you wish any value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isobel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The trip /stay in the Abode Chester, was arranged for an evening with Michael Caines. He hosted a superb evening in his roof top restaurant with introductions to each (six) courses and wine introductions by his Sommelier.
Reception staff were very pleasant and welcoming, room was small but very clean and presentable with good views.
Very nice hotel, would stay again and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rh1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We went a little while ago for our anniversary in spring but absolutely loved this hotel. I looked at getting a mattress from the same place they get theirs from they are that comfy.
We had a meal upstairs in Michael Caines restaurant and it was beautiful as were the cocktails!
It's in a nice position over looking the race course and has a lovely walk along the wall to the river.
Service was great and would love to go back.

Room Tip: We went for the Desirable room and would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbeyapple89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel in great location near to city centre shops and historic city walls, cathedral and racecourse. On arrival offered upgrade to an enviable plus room glad we choose to treat ourselves the room was excellent spacious and luxurious with a view of the city. We did have an issue with it being cold but duty manger Kerry sorted this quickly. Stayed on a Sunday so unable to visit Michael caines restaurant but the cafe grill and bar offered excellent choices 3 course meal with wine cost £82 the service and the food was of high quality. Enjoyed a great nights sleep in a the large bed before breakfast in the restaurant which again provided a good selection. Secure underground parking was a bonus overall a great relaxing stay that made for a very special pre christmas shopping trip. Would recommend to others

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Property: ABode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing