We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveller reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveller reviews.

“What a hotel should be.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Abode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abode Chester
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a hotel should be.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Quite a simple and easy review.
Pros: Clean, tidy, well equipped, modern and polite precise receptionist.
Cons: Noisy bar above (bottles being thrown in bin), faulty aircon.(reported)

Stay again? Yes
Recommend? Yes

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewisEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    609
    276
    81
    50
See reviews for
151
1,237
38
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 590 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed at the Abode on NewYear eve. It was an over night stay, as we had book the gala dinner in the the Michael Canes restaurant. The evening was excellent, the food was lovely, and there was an great band playing 80s music. We stayed in the enviable room in which was very modern and spacious. On the down side. When we check in. We asked for a float deposit. I did not mind so I just left £50. And throughout the evening my husband went to the bar to buy drinks and was refused because the float had run out. "He was most up set" . Because we had payed for the room and meal up front. So he at to leave the celabrations and go down to reception and give then another £100. So we could have a tab on the bar. The drinks are very pricey .

Room Tip: Enviable room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband, daughter and I had a very pleasant stay over the Christmas period - HOWEVER my husband and I particularly were very disappointed to find we could not READ our books and newspapers. I do appreciate that many people have Ipads, phones etc to do some reading but for many people there are still books and newspapers to enjoy reading in bed. The lighting was very stylish but produced "no light"! It was very subdued and eco friendly but not pleasant. I do hope that the Abode can correct this absurd state of affairs. The rooms were lovely and no complaint at all for any other aspect of our stay but we would not return in future due to this one negative. Many people go to a hotel to relax in their rooms as well as visiting local sights and friends/relations.

Room Tip: Ask about reading lights if you are interested in reading!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelDal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
116 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel is amazing! The rooms are extremely comfortable and beautiful. The breakfast had a gourmet menu with delicious options and a very fancy environmennt. The staff was very polite and charismatic. They were always available to help with anything.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for NYE 2013 and chose the abode as a special treat to end the year. We paid extra for a desirable room in fact £198 for one night, not sure what made the room desirable as it was on a par with a premier inn yet three times more expensive and no breakfast included. Bed sheet was stained which was rectified within 30 minutes. The people in the room next to us ignored the no smoking signs and so we had to endure a hot room without being able to open the window as they were in and out smoking in the balcony. The air con would only go as low as 17. We were woken at 5am by our neighbours playing loud music and vomiting in between cigarettes on the balcony. It felt like we were sharing a room with them the noise was so loud. Ruined our special stay. Expectations need to be managed this is not a £200 a night standard of hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LilTrace31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federated States of Micronesia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Ate here, taster menu with wine. It was nice, everything was good. It is not 5star, however it was nice and recommended. I took the wine extra, bit expensive, but was good. Would like to stay, maybe next time

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unknownis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed a couple of times but this time we thoroughly enjoyed it in arrival we were upgraded to a deluxe double !the room had a queen sized bed ! And a very up to date bathroom :)
Very pleased with our two night stay :) the down stairs bar is very tranquil and quiet perfect for a couple away :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 05addymm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#9 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Chester

Property: Abode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
Abode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing