We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year stay”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed at Abode over New Year, had the most relaxed freindly warm and enjoyable experience, Dont get me wrong yes it was New Year and there where Parties Balls, Fire works Michael Caine"s Amazing Dininig ( Which was elegant both the food and service). All staff throughout the stay enabled us to have the best retreat. We will be going again Loved it,

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,537 - 1,543 of 2,133 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

I live just outside of Chester so this hotel would not have been my first choice of hotel but as I had won the short stay & meal in a competition it would have been rude not to. Receptionist was very welcoming, room was amazing very modern and views of the racecourse. Evening meal was defiantly quality produce not quantity. Really enjoyed the ambiance and feel of the place. Breakfast was silver service and again lovely. I would not liked to have picked up the bill in the morning TBH as was £400+
On our anniversary we return here but as it is ridiculously expensive just stayed for drinks, where in the Champagne lounge they have a 10% service charge on your bill. Nice & relaxing though if that's what you like.

Room Tip: Overlooking the racecourse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Quite a simple and easy review.
Pros: Clean, tidy, well equipped, modern and polite precise receptionist.
Cons: Noisy bar above (bottles being thrown in bin), faulty aircon.(reported)

Stay again? Yes
Recommend? Yes

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewisEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed at the Abode on NewYear eve. It was an over night stay, as we had book the gala dinner in the the Michael Canes restaurant. The evening was excellent, the food was lovely, and there was an great band playing 80s music. We stayed in the enviable room in which was very modern and spacious. On the down side. When we check in. We asked for a float deposit. I did not mind so I just left £50. And throughout the evening my husband went to the bar to buy drinks and was refused because the float had run out. "He was most up set" . Because we had payed for the room and meal up front. So he at to leave the celabrations and go down to reception and give then another £100. So we could have a tab on the bar. The drinks are very pricey .

Room Tip: Enviable room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband, daughter and I had a very pleasant stay over the Christmas period - HOWEVER my husband and I particularly were very disappointed to find we could not READ our books and newspapers. I do appreciate that many people have Ipads, phones etc to do some reading but for many people there are still books and newspapers to enjoy reading in bed. The lighting was very stylish but produced "no light"! It was very subdued and eco friendly but not pleasant. I do hope that the Abode can correct this absurd state of affairs. The rooms were lovely and no complaint at all for any other aspect of our stay but we would not return in future due to this one negative. Many people go to a hotel to relax in their rooms as well as visiting local sights and friends/relations.

Room Tip: Ask about reading lights if you are interested in reading!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelDal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel is amazing! The rooms are extremely comfortable and beautiful. The breakfast had a gourmet menu with delicious options and a very fancy environmennt. The staff was very polite and charismatic. They were always available to help with anything.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for NYE 2013 and chose the abode as a special treat to end the year. We paid extra for a desirable room in fact £198 for one night, not sure what made the room desirable as it was on a par with a premier inn yet three times more expensive and no breakfast included. Bed sheet was stained which was rectified within 30 minutes. The people in the room next to us ignored the no smoking signs and so we had to endure a hot room without being able to open the window as they were in and out smoking in the balcony. The air con would only go as low as 17. We were woken at 5am by our neighbours playing loud music and vomiting in between cigarettes on the balcony. It felt like we were sharing a room with them the noise was so loud. Ruined our special stay. Expectations need to be managed this is not a £200 a night standard of hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LilTrace31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,698 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,407 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £83 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing