We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is ok”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 19 March 2014

There is nothing specifically wrong with this hotel. The staff and room were ok. Its location is very good but it just doesn't have that special something to make is more than ok.

Its a little let down in terms of facilities with no pool or spa. Apart from that its fine

Gym is better than some I've used in hotels. Good selection cardio and loose weights.

Room Tip: Room next to the gym (1st floor). If someone is in the gym and the TV is turned up then you will hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,475 - 1,481 of 2,134 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for one night and would most definitly stay here again and recommend it to others. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the location is great, just a few minutes walk and you are in the heart of Chester or by the river. The room was lovely, comfortable bed and great view of the racecourse. We also had a meal in the bar and grill and the food was great and the surroundings are very unique. A very happy stay :-)

Room Tip: We opted for a balcony as we had a racecourse view and this was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindseyw1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel is fantastic, it's right by Chester Racecourse and near to the castle ruins and Military Museum. The room was lovely, we had a Double Superior which had a great sized room, gorgeous bathroom and a balcony with great views. We had drinks in the bar downstairs on the Saturday night, the cocktails were 2 for £9 (between certain times) I was half expecting to have to pay loads, but we didn't and it was a very relaxed atmosphere.
I ordered room service, which wasn't 100% but I kept that to myself as it was a tiny problem compared to what we already experienced. We did book for breakfast but after having dinner on the Saturday night at an American restaurant on the river...we decided we had to go back for an American breakfast! I only wish I'd been able to book in at the Spa, this would have been the cherry on the cake. We were able to leave our bags before and after check in so that we could sight see without carrying luggage around. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only one minor issue, the lifts were an absolute pain!!! But would definitely recommend and I'll be returning to Chester for my hen party, fabulous city!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Hotel was lovely - room was lovely, hotel was lovely and the location is perfect for the city centre. Had a view of the racecourse (ideal for the race season) and matter of steps and you were in the city centre. A little pricy but was lovely. We had a room only booking for two nights and i could have stayed longer. Would recommend

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just spent one night at the hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The staff were great and the hotel was very smart, clean and comfortable. We also had some treatments in the secret sanctuary which were excellent and the staff were fab. One little thing that would make the spa experience would either be a relaxation room, or being able to put robes on after the treatments to go back to your room, as having to put all our clothes back on after becoming super chilled kind of reduced the feeling.

Cocktails in Michael Caines bar was lovely and the food we had in the cafe bar that evening and breakfast the next morning was lovely.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngeLP999_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Can honestly say this was the best hotel I've ever stayed in and I've been to Vegas a few times ! Nothing was too much trouble the room was awesome (enviable room) the bed was the comfiest we've ever been in and the bath area behind the bed was really cool, we also ate at the micheal caines restaurant and we both said out meals were the best we had ever had! We finished out night in the champaign bar drinkin cocktails which were also superb! All the staff make u feel like your there only concern which was nice, overall worth every penny , next time will do 2 nights

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hirsty1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed here over the weekend with my girlfriend.

The room was really nice, relatively spacious for the smallest room type and had a really nice bathroom with Shower. The views of the racecourse and the courtyard where also really impressive.
It's located in a really nice area, away from any hustle and bustle, but only a couple of minutes walk into town at the same time.
Had breakfast in the Michael Caines restaurant and it was very nice. Definitely worth the £11 or so it cost.

The negative. They made me put down a deposit of £50 on top of the £150 or so for the stay. They then refunded me the money not used after the trip. This may be the norm for some places, but not something i really liked. The other negative for this hotel is they charge you £10 for parking. Which i find astonishing to be honest.

However, overall i had a really nice stay here and would definitely go back to this hotel if in Chester.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottC1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,700 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,417 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £83 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing