We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveller reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveller reviews.

“Nice, fresh hotel in Chester, UK”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Abode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abode Chester
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Colorado
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice, fresh hotel in Chester, UK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Chester us a quaint town outside of Manchester. There are fewer hotels to stay when there for business, but Abode, a small regional chain of hotels does a great job of providing a reasonably priced and high quality place to stay. It's right across from the race track, which is good, because it is relatively hard to find. Rooms are clean, modern and functional. Shower was a little awkward-- half a door, so water splashed out on to the floor. Service was great, food in the restaurants was excellent as well. Limited parking underground. Some good restaurants within a few blocks. Well worth staying here when in Chester!

Room Tip: The hotel is a circular building, so outer rooms have a great view from any side. There us a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isdn4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    609
    276
    81
    50
See reviews for
151
1,237
38
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

The room was clean and big but I feel the bed could have been bigger (the 'desirable' rooms at abode in Manchester have HUGE beds!). Also the room was swelteringly hot and the air conditioning didn't work, if I hadn't had many cocktails I probably wouldn't have slept!
The 'tuck tray' with tepid drinks, a fridge would be good.

Upon checkout we told the receptionist about the Aircon and she wasn't bothered about apologising.

I wouldn't stay here again, for the money you pay it's simply not worth it. I'd have slept better in a travel lodge.

Despite the negatives, the restaurant and bar are amazing and I'd recommend them for a special occasion.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I'll start by saying the breakfast here is fantastic and the service too. Sadly the room we had was incredibly disappointing for the price of the hotel and the high standard of the restaurant. We stayed in a standard double which for the price was incredibly small and incredibly basic. The bathroom was about the same size as the room and very nice although the towel rail was broken and the bathroom floor got soaked each time we showered as there was only one panel of glass and it was a powerful shower. The service throughout our stay was great although we did have a maid walk in on us in the morning getting dressed as she thought the room was unoccupied but these things happen. Disappointing : (

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed for one night & we were very impressed. Fabulous room, lovely hotel & very helpful, friendly staff. Would recommend using the underground car park even though it costs extra as no other parking close by. Location is good, we walked into centre as it only took 10 minutes or so. Booked into the spa for a massage which was excellent, just what the doctor ordered!

Room Tip: If you want a racecourse view, ask for one when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jif61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at the Abode this weekend after our wedding. The room was fantastic, luxurious and really comfortable. Parking was so easy and accessible. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Thank you

Room Tip: Pay a little more! Our room was amazing
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here for one night and was extremely impressed! The room was amazing and very clean! Parking is available underneath the hotel and service was brilliant. There is a restaurant and bar inside the hotel at reasonable prices and there is also a gym and spa available for use! Only a ten minute walk to city centre so brilliant location! I would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klr092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

There is nothing specifically wrong with this hotel. The staff and room were ok. Its location is very good but it just doesn't have that special something to make is more than ok.

Its a little let down in terms of facilities with no pool or spa. Apart from that its fine

Gym is better than some I've used in hotels. Good selection cardio and loose weights.

Room Tip: Room next to the gym (1st floor). If someone is in the gym and the TV is turned up then you will hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#9 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Chester

Property: Abode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
Abode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing