We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when visiting Chester”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Southwell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to stay when visiting Chester”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here last weekend. The room was great (upgraded one level for £15 per night, and the Michael Caines restaurant taster menu was really special. will definitely visit again if in the vicinity of Chester.

Room Tip: Rooms high up facing the racecourse are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    632
    294
    88
    54
See reviews for
163
1,292
40
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just come back from weekend break in Chester , stayed in this Hotel where the staff were friendly and helpful nothing too much trouble for them. The room was lovely , bed was the comfiest we have ever had ! The location is just right for a very nice stroll into town or walk across the road to join the city walls which takes you around town or down to the lovely river. We didn't eat here but did have a cheeky cocktail in the 5th floor champagne bar . Would stay here again .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange-over-sands, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

For non-business visitors the parking charge of £10 per night is rather a disappointment. Apart from that - it was all good. Good location and food, Excellent bedrooms and general decor. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I came for a spring break offer and just felt so relaxed in our beautiful room. On arrival we were dealt with very efficiently and chose to upgrade our room. That evening we had a lovely meal in the cafe followed by a fantastic breakfast the following morning. We finished our stay with a little gym session and beautiful massage. What a way to leave, feeling like we had been away for longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank knowlesyBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a 2 day trip to Chester and this hotel was great. Fab location, just a 5 min walk to either the river or town centre. We had an 'enviable' room which was very comfortable, massive bed, floor to ceiling windows, modern decor and the roll top bath was amazing. There was a large flat screen tv and iPod docking station which gave really good sound. Lovely touches with the lighting too, we had yellow lights around the bed and by the pictures on the walls. We didn't have a view of Chester or the racecourse (our room looked inwards to a courtyard) but lots of natural light.

The bathroom was spacious and the monsoon shower was nice and powerful. My only recommendations would be to have a hook in the bathroom to hang up the complimentary bathrobes and a fridge in the room would of been helpful. These are rather minor but for £150 per night I would expect a fridge. Having said that, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Talluluh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here before on business, it has one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in, Fab room, Lovely staff and amazing breakfast. better than Marriott. Will definitely return. 10/10
Only complaint, found toe nail on floor in bedroom but other than that the room was spotless.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stuie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have just got back from a weekend stay at Abode with my partner. Absolutely LOVED the hotel! Brilliant service from all staff. Food at the Bar/Grill restaurant was lovely and the bar area downstairs was really good too. The room we were allocated was bright, clean and spacious. The only comment I would have is that the room was really hot (probably because of the floor to ceiling windows) but you could not turn the heat down anymore and there was no air-con option. Also no windows which you were able to open. Other than that though, cant fault it!

I would 110% stay here again and recommed to friends and family. 10 minute walk from bars and restaurants, or the hotel will book you a taxi (only cost us £3)

10/10 !! Thank you! :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,631 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Property: ABode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing