We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank holiday weekend”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Surprised my partner with a night stay at the ABode and the GM organised for a birthday banner to be put up in our room and gave us a little box of ABode chocolates! Lovely touch. Had an enviable plus room and it was spotless, spacious and the bed was so comfy. The hotel is very central and a 5 minute walk to the shopping and restaurant area. Will definitely be recommending :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,119)
There are newer reviews for ABode Chester
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,378 - 1,384 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Relaxed
Professional
Quality
Massive bed
Great shower
Bright rooms
Lovely staff
Great bar
Great restaurant
Easy parking
Great location
Iron in room
Hairdryer in room
Comfiest bed ever
Great TV
Modern
Tea and coffee

Worth every penny


Enjoy

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank WarbiefromBURY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had vouchers for Abode Chester so went one day in May. The room was fantastic, up on the sixth floor with a balcony overlooking Chester. We started the evening with cocktails in the bar and went on to eat in Michael Caines restaurant....the food was delicious & great value for money. Another cocktail to follow the meal finished off a perfect evening. The whole stay was helped with
very friendly & polite staff from the moment we checked in. Abode Chester is well worth a visit to both the hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Sixth floor were definitely worth upgrading to.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband has always wanted to try a taster menu so from recommendation I decided to pick the abode in Chester, we were staying at crabwall manor hotel for our 1st wedding anniversary, so it is only a short taxi away. Having looked at the options I decided to include the wine and cheese course. All together with the service charge if was £258, it was worth every single penny. Not only was the menu exquisite but the wine manager Aiden who chose the wine for each course just made our evening. We love our wines and we just couldn't fault a sip of it. Everything from the ambience and atmosphere to the customer service was spot on. We started at 7:45pm and finished about 11pm, so for over 3 hours you really can not complain. Every dish was beautifully presented and tasted amazing, not everything on the menu would have appealed yo my husband if he was choosing in a restaurant but every plate was left empty, we are even converted into port and also blue cheese. I really can not recommend this restaurant enough. We will definitely be returning for another special occasion. Thank you to all the hard working staff, you really know how to treat your customers and make them feel like they are royalty.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate, just book
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shus339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I booked a spring spectacular deal here, it was £109 for 2 inc bed and breakfast and evening meal, and must say the hotel could not be faulted and the food was the best i have had for a long time.
It is situated very close to all Chesters amenities, lovely pub next door with large gardens overlooking the racecourse
The only downside for me was that Chester itself was very quiet and dull, we were expecting something similar to York but really did not live up to that.
Not the hotels fault though as this is a great hotel if Chester is your place

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the racecourse
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanHall_070271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Fantastic location overlooking the racecourse. Five minutes walk and you are in the centre of Chester. This modern glass hotel has very clean, well decorated rooms with a modern twist. On the top floor it has a Michael Cain restaurant and a modern cocktail bar. We didn't evening dine in the restaurant but you must try the cocktails.... Very good. Breakfast is also served here - charged separately to room. The food was ok to good; the continental breakfast offering is more of a token gesture. There is also a bistro and bar lounge on the ground floor. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is underground car parking, which is chargeable daily - well worth it. We will definitely stay here again when visiting Chester.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beacon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Overall a very pleasant stay, room very spacious but lacking seating and anywhere but the dressing table to put the tea facilities. Food excellent but bar quite restricted in its choice, and no nuts etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,686 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £76 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing