We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three quarter good other disappointing”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Three quarter good other disappointing”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My husband surprised me for my 40th birthday to stay here two nights.. Went to check in and the booking had been canceled.. The male receptionist re booked us .. Made us feel uncomfortable.. While he booked us in no apology ..the phone rang while he was dealing with us .. No excuse me or sorry about that! We weren't told about breakfast! The bar.. Restaurant ?so the checking in wasn't best.. My only other complaint was the slow pressure on shower.. The champagne bar was lovely excellent service.. Views lovely.. When we finally realised where the breakfast restaurant was on the second morning it was first class!! Yes I would stay only if my booking and checking in was more relaxing and stress free!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    634
    295
    88
    54
See reviews for
164
1,294
40
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I would always choose this hotel first if I ever return to Chester. The staff throughout the hotel are very freindly and go the extra mile to insure that you have a pleasant stay. The rooms are excellent and the bar and Resturant are likewise. Makes you not want to leave the hotel!




  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We were allocated a room with an excellent view of the racecourse. The room was very clean and a high spec, breakfast and service was very good, staff were pleasant and professional. A little on the pricy side so would not be able to afford to stay often (this was a special ocassion)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MrsE_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Balcony door fell off during its first opening and no maintenance staff were available to re-hang it. Had to re-hang for myself and then lock shut for the duration of our stay. No alternative offered!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Hawayholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip N, General Manager at ABode Chester, responded to this review, 17 July 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent visit at ABode Chester.

ABode Chester prides itself on excellent customer service so I am therefore incredibly disappointed that we did not meet or indeed exceed your expectations.

I sincerely hope that these incidents have not discouraged you from visiting ABode Chester in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you would like to return and I will make sure you are well looked after.

I am available via email or through the main hotel number should you wish to discuss this matter further.

Yours sincerely,

PJNewmarch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Amazing stay, staff fantastic all round and the food wonderful you can't fault this hotel. The views from our room of Chester city were beautiful, the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. Everything is around you and it is only a few minuets walk to the city we will stay again.
Thank you to all and we will see you again very soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ironman425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed for 2 nights in this hotel, the room was lovely and comfortable! Easy walk into the town centre and easy access with the car. However we did have to pay for parking and breakfast on arrival. Lovely and helpful staff throughout the hotel, bar and restaurant. We ate in the Restaurant on the Friday and had drinks in the Champagne bar both fantastic. Lovely weekend and would 100% recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony and view of the race course. After looking on trip adviser I did so and was very g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle Of Man
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Booked this hotel on-line as a surprise for the wife for her birthday and booked to stay two nights. As my wife hadn't seen her mother for a while, and it was her birthday weekend, I rang the hotel a couple of weeks later to see if I could book an additional room for my mother-in-law to stay at the hotel for 1 night. Both bookings were confirmed to me (as I was paying for both) via email and both had a separate on-line concierge reference page (allowing me to upgrade rooms, change bookings, etc., should I need to do so). So far, so good. Unfortunately, on the day we arrived (after a pretty stressful morning following a lack of availability of hire cars at the airport and rushing around to pick up my mother-in-law who was subsequently stranded in North Wales due to my delay in getting hold of a car) we eventually turned up at the hotel with relevant booking forms in hand only to be told that my original booking had been cancelled ! Apparently the subsequent booking made for the mother-in-law for 1 night had replaced my original booking for myself and my wife (for 2 nights) ! All a bit annoying, especially as this hadn't been requested by me and nothing was mentioned on my email confirmations or on the on-line concierge pages ! Despite this set back, reception did manage to find us a comparable room in the hotel to the one that I had originally booked, although I get the felling that if it had been the following weekend (when the Chester Races were on) I think myself and the better half would have been sleeping in the car or on the floor ! All in all, this is a fantastic hotel with very helpful and friendly staff in a great location. Just make sure that if you want to add any more guests, rooms or nights to your stay, make sure that you confirm this with the hotel before you turn up to save any grief.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,634 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Property: ABode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing