We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Excellent location with free parking on site, large luxury suite with fantastic view of the City... Huge bed and bathroom, plenty of room to relax.... Staff were very helpful and friendly. Next time we visit Chester we will be staying at the ABode Chester :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip N, General Manager at ABode Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent visit at ABode Chester.

ABode Chester prides itself on excellent customer service so I am therefore incredibly pleased you have enjoyed your stay.

I hope you will visit ABode Chester in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you would like to return and I will make sure you are well looked after.

I am available via email or through the main hotel number should you wish to discuss future bookings.

Yours sincerely,

PJNewmarch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,343 - 1,349 of 2,134 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is in a great position for visiting the City and the Racecourse, both are within easy walking distance. Our room was clean and spacious as were the public areas of the hotel. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed that we have ever slept in.

However the hotel lacked a level of professionalism that we would have expected for an establishment of this standing.

We booked a one night stay on a dinner/bed breakfast rate pus £10 for use of the underground car park. The email confirmation of our booking quoted the rate for the night but did not mention the fact that it included dinner or that we had booked a parking space. It would have been useful to receive a fully documented confirmation with information on how to access the car park on arrival.

When we checked in were given the key card to our room. On opening the bedroom door we found suitcases and personal effects in the room. Yes, we had been the wrong room and worse still a key card that opened someone else's room.

At dinner we dined in the Bar and Grille and we were advised that our room rate included food from the Market Menu but we could pick from the full menu at additional cost. That is fair enough but beware there are only three choices for each course on the Market Menu. The hotel also adds a service charge for meals taken on a fixed rate booking!

We ordered a bottle of Merlot from the wine list. "I'm sorry that bottle is not available, I'll get you another wine list".

We both fancied the apple crumble and custard. " I'm sorry we ran out of crumble last night and we have not had another delivery yet". Bear in mind that we were one of only two occupied tables that evening and the kitchen staff could not make a crumble!

Breakfast was good. It was nice to have a cooked meal served to the table rather than buffet style. The hot food however seemed to have been kept warm i.e. it was buffet style but served from the kitchen and not really cooked to order.

At check out we paid our bill and left. No one bothered to ask if we had had a nice stay or bid us a good journey.

Come on Abode you can do better than this.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pasimul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I remember the days in catering colleges when the public were guinea pigs and had to put up with amateurish students serving food. Our dinner here brought memories flooding back. Food? Well executed, but portions on the small side of nouveau cuisine. Drinks? Cocktails took an absolute age to be mixed and served, even though we were the only customers in the bar area, the young bar man really was no expert in his craft, and at the price, he damn well should have been!
Service again was amateurish, with a giggly girl stumbling over her 'memorised' statements of fare.,A comment that surfaced afterwards was that there was no obvious maître 'd to make us feel looked after......all in all a rather shallow dining experience.
Oh , I almost forgot, it was a special evening and I asked for a window table, not a problem was the reply.....BUT they don't have window tables for four, only twos, why not say so at the time of booking? It wouldn't have been a deal breaker, but it would have avoided disapointment

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dalestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night, with two friends and all four of us really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is perfectly located for Chester, the rooms clean and spacious with lovely bathrooms. All the staff we met were really friendly and helpful. The downstairs bar was the perfect place to end the evening and the fifth floor dining room provided an excellent breakfast with great views. We will certainly stay here again next time we all meet up.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mellyk-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip N, General Manager at ABode Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent visit at ABode Chester.

ABode Chester prides itself on excellent customer service so I am therefore incredibly pleased you have enjoyed your stay.

I hope you will visit ABode Chester in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you would like to return and I will make sure you are well looked after.

I am available via email or through the main hotel number should you wish to discuss future bookings.

Yours sincerely,

PJNewmarch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a really pleasant hotel with welcoming, professional staff. The restaurant was exceptional - we had booked a weekday deal, but upgraded the restaurant meal to A la carte, and were certainly not disappointed. Every course was superb. Overlooking the racecourse, it's an excellent base for exploring the beautiful city of Chester, and we definitely intend to return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Walking distance from Chester town center, a very pleasant place to come back to in the evenings. Surprisingly large room for a British hotel, with a bright, airy and spacious feel to it. Modern fittings and furnishings, the place looks very smart.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JamesDonnyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It's an average hotel and for business men on a single night stay I wouldn't recommend this hotel, gym is tiny with about 6-8 pieces of equipment to use.
Overall I found the staff un welcolming on reception and didn't care when an issue was raised

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip N, General Manager at ABode Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent visit at ABode Chester.

ABode Chester prides itself on excellent customer service so I am therefore incredibly disappointed that we did not meet or indeed exceed your expectations.

I sincerely hope that these incidents have not discouraged you from visiting ABode Chester in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you would like to return and I will make sure you are well looked after.

I am available via email or through the main hotel number should you wish to discuss this matter further.

Yours sincerely,

PJNewmarch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,700 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,417 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £83 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing