We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was just right!!”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is our second stay in the Abode Chester and it was great......in fact everything was just perfect...... the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, the quality of the food, the setting and views and the cleanliness of the rooms.....all were just right. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,367 - 1,373 of 2,163 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Visited Abode tonight for our 10th wedding anniversary and I have to say what a fantastic experience. Service was excellent and more importantly the food was really good. We have heard lots of different stories from friends and family but I went in with an open mind and was really impressed with the whole experience.
We are both now looking forward to enjoying another visit in the not to distant future!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Excellent hotel with added bonus of great location which was within a 10 minutes walk into central Chester. The 5th floor cocktail lounge has imposing views over Chester racecourse. The hotel is full of prints of rock goddesses.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Fantastic hotel, room was fantastic, we stayed in a suite and it was excellent, very large and spacious. The service and staff were very friendly. The location was very central to Chester, overlooking the Racecourse. All a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip N, General Manager at ABode Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent visit at ABode Chester.

ABode Chester prides itself on excellent customer service so I am therefore incredibly pleased you have enjoyed your stay.

I hope you will visit ABode Chester in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you would like to return and I will make sure you are well looked after.

I am available via email or through the main hotel number should you wish to discuss future bookings.

Yours sincerely,

PJNewmarch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Excellent location with free parking on site, large luxury suite with fantastic view of the City... Huge bed and bathroom, plenty of room to relax.... Staff were very helpful and friendly. Next time we visit Chester we will be staying at the ABode Chester :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip N, General Manager at ABode Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent visit at ABode Chester.

ABode Chester prides itself on excellent customer service so I am therefore incredibly pleased you have enjoyed your stay.

I hope you will visit ABode Chester in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you would like to return and I will make sure you are well looked after.

I am available via email or through the main hotel number should you wish to discuss future bookings.

Yours sincerely,

PJNewmarch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is in a great position for visiting the City and the Racecourse, both are within easy walking distance. Our room was clean and spacious as were the public areas of the hotel. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed that we have ever slept in.

However the hotel lacked a level of professionalism that we would have expected for an establishment of this standing.

We booked a one night stay on a dinner/bed breakfast rate pus £10 for use of the underground car park. The email confirmation of our booking quoted the rate for the night but did not mention the fact that it included dinner or that we had booked a parking space. It would have been useful to receive a fully documented confirmation with information on how to access the car park on arrival.

When we checked in were given the key card to our room. On opening the bedroom door we found suitcases and personal effects in the room. Yes, we had been the wrong room and worse still a key card that opened someone else's room.

At dinner we dined in the Bar and Grille and we were advised that our room rate included food from the Market Menu but we could pick from the full menu at additional cost. That is fair enough but beware there are only three choices for each course on the Market Menu. The hotel also adds a service charge for meals taken on a fixed rate booking!

We ordered a bottle of Merlot from the wine list. "I'm sorry that bottle is not available, I'll get you another wine list".

We both fancied the apple crumble and custard. " I'm sorry we ran out of crumble last night and we have not had another delivery yet". Bear in mind that we were one of only two occupied tables that evening and the kitchen staff could not make a crumble!

Breakfast was good. It was nice to have a cooked meal served to the table rather than buffet style. The hot food however seemed to have been kept warm i.e. it was buffet style but served from the kitchen and not really cooked to order.

At check out we paid our bill and left. No one bothered to ask if we had had a nice stay or bid us a good journey.

Come on Abode you can do better than this.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pasimul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I remember the days in catering colleges when the public were guinea pigs and had to put up with amateurish students serving food. Our dinner here brought memories flooding back. Food? Well executed, but portions on the small side of nouveau cuisine. Drinks? Cocktails took an absolute age to be mixed and served, even though we were the only customers in the bar area, the young bar man really was no expert in his craft, and at the price, he damn well should have been!
Service again was amateurish, with a giggly girl stumbling over her 'memorised' statements of fare.,A comment that surfaced afterwards was that there was no obvious maître 'd to make us feel looked after......all in all a rather shallow dining experience.
Oh , I almost forgot, it was a special evening and I asked for a window table, not a problem was the reply.....BUT they don't have window tables for four, only twos, why not say so at the time of booking? It wouldn't have been a deal breaker, but it would have avoided disapointment

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dalestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,753 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,547 reviews
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 45 in Chester
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £76 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing