We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great weekend”
Review of Abode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Abode Chester
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great weekend”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Have stayed several times and although last weekend was expensive because the races were on we had a great time. The room with a balcony overlooking the racecourse gave us a good view of the races both Friday and Saturday. As ever the breakfast was excellent and I'm glad to say that both cooked and continental choices are no longer charged separately. Good location for the city centre bars and restaurants

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    619
    287
    84
    52
See reviews for
159
1,267
38
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel has an underground car park (which is chargeable) and there is access to the hotel from the car park via a lift. The hotel is a modern building with modern décor and well equipped rooms. The bathrooms were beautiful with lovely modern fittings. We had a balcony room which overlooked the road and the racecourse. The hotel is well located and is close to the city centre shops, with the main shopping streets about 5 minutes away. When we stayed at the hotel we also ate in the onsite Michael Caines restaurant which is slightly expensive but the food and service were amazing and justified the expense. If you are looking for a city centre hotel this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Nothing special. Modern surroundings but just the usual facilities we all expect in a purpose built hotel. Impersonal, staff didn't, take the time to welcome us on arrival, "name please" was as good as it got. This hotel probably suits business users or anyone who is not looking for customer service delivered in a friendly manner.



  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed over at the Abode for 1 night for our wedding anniversary on the 12th July, and what a brilliant stay it was. From the moment we arrived the red carpet was rolled out. Great car parking inside the hotel building, lovely room (we had a private balcony), fantastic champagne bar and restaurant overlooking the race course and best of all top class customer care from very professional staff. Thinking of staying somewhere else in Chester? Think again - it has to be Abode.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liverpool12324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Nice hotel with well equipped rooms (although a fridge would improve offering). Well located, however, a couple of things to note!
* Half of the rooms look over to the racecourse, the over half -direct into the Council offices! And I mean literally, you can see them making coffee, having their meetings - and imagine what they can see...... Hotel not full, so for £200+ a night might have preferred a bit of a view.
* Car park - again shared with Chester Council - is a nightmare. No hotel spaces free, concrete pillars everywhere - if you have a larger car I advise you park in the public car park which is very near & far less stressful.
* Breakfast - good hot offering from menu, however cold offering minimal with the saddest pastry selection I have seen for a while, with bite size croissants. no excuse really.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT looking into the Council offices
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lititz, Pa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Abode is ideally located for a visit to Chester...a mere 5 minute walk to the old town. The staff was very helpful when we requested recommendations and directions. The gal behind the desk was exceptionally helpful supplying us with local maps, brochures, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PSU1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed at Abode for one night. Overall very good particularly restaurant. The service and evening meal was excellent. Room was ok - looked a little tired and a fridge would be useful. Checking in was very slow and lounge bar service was very slow due to number of large parties visiting. More staff required.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ceri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Chester

Property: Abode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
Abode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing