We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Nottingham
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Upgraded to suite on sixth floor. Brilliant view of surrounding area. Room was exceptional with top quality furnishing. Staff were friendly and service was of a high standard. Would not hesitate to return .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    628
    291
    87
    52
See reviews for
162
1,280
39
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Abode overlooks the race course and has a good location for Chester centre.
Champagne bar and outside area is nice(greenery in the City)
Staff were friendly and service good.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank angiev246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed for two nights in July on a half board basis. Our room was on the 4th floor with a partial view of the race course. Nicely appointed rooms, but somewhat compact for two people. There was only one chair and small desk. There is no mini bar, but there is a kettle and tea/coffee making facilities and a free safe. Bathrooms are a reasonable size with a good size shower cubicle, however the shower is fixed, so be careful of water spraying onto the tile floor outside the shower.
We did not feel our half board package to be particularly good value. You have to eat evening meals in the bar area rather than the upper restaurant. The menu on this package is very limited and you need to ask the waiter what is included with the main course. The desserts were nothing special for the price. Had we known the close proximity to town we would have eaten out in the evenings.
Breakfasts were taken in the main restaurant on top floor which has stunning views across the race course and Welsh mountains beyond.
All in all not a bad place to stay and you can park underground for £10 per night.

Room Tip: Our room 416 wasn't bad for views etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victrory_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

From the moment we checked in we were greeted by exceptional service from reception. It doesn't take much to greet customers with a friendly smile and simple chit-chat but its surprising how many places lack this! Arriving in our room we were delighted, the room was breath taking! The bed was easily big enough for 4 people (if you so wished!) and the bath was plenty big enough for three as was the walk-in monsoon shower in the bathroom (worth having a play around with as it features 3 different settings) I was pleased to see the complimentary toiletries were available in the bathroom as well as by the bathtub in the bedroom as so many places only provide you with the one set for bath and shower. There was also ample amount of fluffy white towels (like everything at the Abode, oversized and ridiculously luxurious!) along with robes and slippers in the wardrobe. The décor was perfect, relaxing yet modern and we immediately felt at home! We enjoyed champagne and Sunday dinner upstairs in the Michael Caines restaurant and for such reasonable prices (£15 for two courses) we were very impressed at the standard of service and delicious food (including complimentary appetisers) We decided to cancel our plans to eat out that night and instead enjoyed a leisurely stroll around the nearby castle following the city walls round to the roman amphitheatre and gardens before returning to enjoy yet more food on room service. After all with a room as comfortable as ours we didn't fancy leaving it! We opted to have breakfast delivered to the room in the morning which you can do by using an tick box menu and hanging it out on the door before 3am. We checked out at twelve and left our luggage with reception (again helpful and friendly staff) but returned shortly afterwards for coffee in the lounge bar which was the only disappointment of our whole trip as the waitress failed to offer us a single smile or 'please/thankyou' etc and felt a little dark for a sunny afternoon, I can imagine it comes into its own at a night time though. I only wish I'd had time to sample a spa treatment as the range and prices were very tempting, particularly being able to have your hair and make up done professionally before an event, race day or night out what a brilliant way of relieving the stress. Our only regret of the whole weekend was not booking the Abode for both our nights in Chester instead wasting our time and money on our first night at the overpriced Travelodge nearby claiming to the 'luxury Crowne Plaza'! There's no question were we'll be staying on our next trip to Chester!

Room Tip: Pay the extra to book a luxury room, the bathtub in the bedroom is an unmissable feature...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetieCheekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Have stayed several times and although last weekend was expensive because the races were on we had a great time. The room with a balcony overlooking the racecourse gave us a good view of the races both Friday and Saturday. As ever the breakfast was excellent and I'm glad to say that both cooked and continental choices are no longer charged separately. Good location for the city centre bars and restaurants

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel has an underground car park (which is chargeable) and there is access to the hotel from the car park via a lift. The hotel is a modern building with modern décor and well equipped rooms. The bathrooms were beautiful with lovely modern fittings. We had a balcony room which overlooked the road and the racecourse. The hotel is well located and is close to the city centre shops, with the main shopping streets about 5 minutes away. When we stayed at the hotel we also ate in the onsite Michael Caines restaurant which is slightly expensive but the food and service were amazing and justified the expense. If you are looking for a city centre hotel this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Nothing special. Modern surroundings but just the usual facilities we all expect in a purpose built hotel. Impersonal, staff didn't, take the time to welcome us on arrival, "name please" was as good as it got. This hotel probably suits business users or anyone who is not looking for customer service delivered in a friendly manner.



  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,615 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,081 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.4 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Property: ABode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing