We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. Great location. Good Shower. ”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in the Abode a number of times, it is fantastic. A nice hand-written welcome card is a nice touch to start. The restaurant is superb, Michael Caines is a tremendous chef. The room was great, good space and nice and cool. The bathroom was a very generous size and the shower was good.

Super professional and friendly staff, I highly recommend this hotel. Probably the best in Chester.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Simmokj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,324 - 1,330 of 2,163 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Didn't eat, just had 2 glasses of house bubbly, good quality and very reasonably priced at 10.50 a glass. Tasty truffled popcorn and mixed olives to go with a superb view across this wonderfully green city from the 5th floor. Very nicely furnished and some atmospheric chill out music made for a lovely pre-dinner drink.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank madfish8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Booked this hotel for a day round chester, but unfortunately as there was a party going on in the hotel we had a poor nights sleep, staff were excellent and apologetic but just not what you want when you need an early night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for our Anniversary . The staff were very helpful and upgraded us to a beautiful room on the first floor . Having read about the beds being soft ours was on the quant array , we couldn't have asked for more . Breakfast was delicious and served with a smile , over looking the race course . A big thank you to Elle and the Abode team

Room Tip: First floor premier rooms are luxurious and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cocoabanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We booked a desirable room but it took 2 more rooms to get one that suited us. In our opinion we did not think the rooms were as desirable as the website suggests, however the staff member who booked us in did everything she could to help us get a suitable room overlooking part of the racecourse. The location of the hotel is superb, just a few minutes from the town centre. Parking at the hotel is quite expensive at £10 per 24hrs if you are staying a few days. Can not comment on the restaurant as we did not go but there are some excellent eating places in Chester, we recommend Upstairs at the Grill. Overall we had a lovely few days in Chester/

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A very comfortable hotel overlooking Chester race course. All staff very helpful and friendly. Excellent Michael Caines restaurant although bar prices were very expensive. The car park attached to the hotel was also very expensive at £10 per night . The rooms were modern and clean and very comfortable large beds, with a choice of pillows. Was slightly disappointed with our bathroom not having a separate shower cubicle but that was really a minor point.We only stayed for two nights whilst going to The British Open at Hoylake but would definitely stay again if in Chester.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I had a most enjoyable overnight stay at Abode. Champagne cocktails on the balony overlooking the racecourse was very pleasant! The position of the hotel made it very easy to leave the car in the hotel car park and walk the 10 mins into town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,751 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,542 reviews
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 45 in Chester
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £70 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing