We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well above expectations, thoroughly recommended”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Norfolk UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well above expectations, thoroughly recommended”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was a last minute booking for a business meeting and I was not expecting too much. I was very pleasantly surprised particularly with the courteous and very efficient staff in every aspect. Breakfast was excellent and my room was immaculate and the bed very comfortable. We have an on going business in Chester and I will definitely stay here again. WELL DONE all round

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheyneyNorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    633
    295
    88
    54
See reviews for
163
1,293
40
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I don't normally review hotels but will make an exception due to the appalling treatment I recently received from this hotel. As I had an early start I ordered breakfast to go by hanging the tab on my door my colleague did the same, hers was collected mine wasn't I had to deliver it. Neither breakfast ever materialised, despite waiting until 7.25am and being late for our appointment they couldn't locate them! No real apology from the apathetic, unsmiling and unsympathetic staff. next morning we decided to eat breakfast in the restaurant, on asking where the breakfast room was we were directed to the fifth floor only to be informed that breakfast was not served until 8am. Why reception couldn't tell us that I have no idea. As for the restaurant we requested a window seat when we booked the previous week, we were then led to a table at the opposite end of the windows and was informed that it was first come first served for window seats. Two window seats were unoccupied the whole time we were there! Parking spaces were full, despite the hotel advertising parking was available, they "allowed" us to occupy the disabled space...not a cheap hotel but a cheap experience...terrible, they need a manager!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller51Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Really enjoyed the room. Modern, very clean, bright and gave us everything we needed. The hotel was also in a great location, with-in a short walking distance to the town and a great pub only next door called the Architect. Good food and a lovely beer garden overlooking the race track.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pa_ryan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Good hotel, a change from the usual business hotel. Wish I had time to try out the restaurant, perhaps next time. Everything straightforward and efficient from check in to check out. Definately one to return to!



  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Went to stay in the Abode in Chester for our anniversary, nice rooms, very boutique of course - it's the design. Bed was awesome. We ate at the hotel restaurant which was good, friendly staff but the highlight was the balcony view and setting sun atmosphere where we had pre dinner bubbly!
Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

What a great experience - Excellent food (tasting menu was amazing) the attentive service was superb - that attention to detail that enhances the whole experience ... From reception staff, waiters - waitresses to the cleaning staff... All very polite and efficient.

The wedding of friends at the Hotel on the Friday was highly memorable - once again great service and the best Wedding Breakfast I've ever had - the chefs are certainly accomplished - The quality and standard from the Restaurant Tasting Menu was clear to see.
Will definitely revisit.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eloise11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Delightful stay at the Abode ! Great location overlooking Chester racecourse ! We were in 317 huge bed so comfy, walk in shower and air con that works very well! We took breakfast option full English great,! service superb! on top floor of hotel with great views! Parking under hotel best to prepay 10£ day when you arrive look for signs Abode car park, drive down ramp and press button for reception the door will rise ! better there than public car park!
We didn't eat in main hotel only breakfast as we like to be flexible! so can"t give a view on food but sure it would excellent!
A good tip for those of you don"t want to eat in hotel or can"t find a spot in Chester just opposite the Abode is an establishment called the architect try it you won"t go far wrong !
Chester is a lovely place lots to do and this hotel Abode is in the right spot just five minutes to centre!
All in all a feel good hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip N, General Manager at ABode Chester, responded to this review, 17 July 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent visit at ABode Chester.

ABode Chester prides itself on excellent customer service so I am therefore incredibly pleased you have enjoyed your stay.

I hope you will visit ABode Chester in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you would like to return and I will make sure you are well looked after.

I am available via email or through the main hotel number should you wish to discuss future bookings.

Yours sincerely,

PJNewmarch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,632 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Property: ABode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing