We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abode Chester
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Benllech
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great hotel and trip. Upon arriving home, discovered £21 pound had been taken from my account by the hotel. When I phoned to query, got very little explanation, and was told I would get a call back. Didn't receive a call back, when a called again I was told it was for breakfast, when we specifically didn't book breakfast nor have breakfast! Still waiting for refund. Disappointing end to a great and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    599
    273
    81
    49
See reviews for
150
1,223
38
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here in June for my birthday and had a lovely stay and a nice small box of chocolates complimentary from the hotel awaiting in the roo upon our arrival.
We booked a "desirable" room which was lovely & had a large comfy bed with also a spacious bathroom, with unfortunately no bath however a great shower and some really nice bathroom smellies.
We had views over the racecourse which was a lovely bonus.
Parking is ideally situated under the hotel with plenty of space and room to maneuver the car and bags,and for £10.00 is very reasonable for a city centre hotel however it would be good if parking was complimentary.
Hotel is about 5 -10 mins walk into city centre and rooms appear to be soundproofed so no noise is heard from outside traffic.
Staff on check in / check out were friendly & efficient.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the racecourse and partly over little roodee carpark was quiet. Ask for higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BecGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is modern and well set up. It is very near the city centre but remarkably quiet.
Breakfast is very good. the hotel has its own underground parking ( £10 a night)
Had a meal at the Michael cain restaurant. the service was of the highest standard. The meal itself was very nice I had the leg of chicken to start with which is deboned and served in a croquette style My main was the salmon which was very flavoursome. Desserts were also well presented and very appetising The cheese course was the only real disppointment being a little bland. Service charge is 12%.
The room had a great view overlooking the race course. My only gripe is that I prefer a bath to a shower. Saying that the shower worked well.
Overall its a great place to stay if you are visiting the fine city of Chester.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Abode have got it right, it's as simple as that. The service, from the front desk, to house keeping and restaurant staff was exceptional. The location is great and within easy walking distance of the centre of Chester. We we're fortunate enough to be guests at a wedding hosted at the Abode - it was incredible. We would highly recommend the 'Tasting Menu' - it's expensive but well worth it. We make our 5 star recommendation unreservedly. Go enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is basically a Travelodge or premier inn hotel but the staff had posher uniforms so charged more for the stay, I won't be rushing to use it or any abode again, nothing special I was only there for a wedding, the drinks charge was extortionate!




  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hightower39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on a Saturday evening with my sister for her birthday weekend. The service and staff were excellent and the room and balcony view over the racecourse was great. We enjoyed a divine espresso martini in the 5th floor champagne bar and the breakfast on the Sunday morning was first class! We both thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and we will certainly be back again!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank emmaeg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Thought this hotel was very nice and modern with onsite parking which was very handy!
We arrived for quick check in and went up to our room. It was a bit on the small side but very cute with a big window. The bed was extremely comfy and had the nicest tartan fleece blanket and cushions!! The shower and bathroom was very nice. All in all lovely hotel. Did not eat in the restraunt or use any of the facilities so cannot comment on these. In a great location just a few minutes walk frmo all the shops.
Would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Chester

Property: Abode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotelopia and Hotels.com so you can book your Abode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
Abode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing