We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abode Chester
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Chester
South Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice modern hotel overlooking the racecourse and less than 5 minutes walk from town centre. Stayed in a basic double which was OK but a few extra touches would have been nice such as a better range of toiletries. Breakfast was delicious with great views over the racecourse and the Welsh hills from the restaurant.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bev53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    599
    273
    81
    49
See reviews for
150
1,223
38
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed in Abode Chester in August 2014, and it was wonderful!
From the car parking in the basement - a rarity in Chester and well recommended, to the incredible breakfast in Michael Caine's restaurant overlooking the racecourse - I cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boogakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

On a good point the location is fantastic, minutes from the racecourse and the town centre, however it was a very expensive stay for a day at the races, don't mind paying top money for a top service but I'm afraid this fell short, the service on the desk was poor and when we entered our room the previous occupants luggage was still in the room. We will be visiting Chester again as it's lovely but we wont be staying here I'm afraid.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel is well placed for shopping and all the sights of roman Chester.
Rooms are small but adequate with safes,coffee. Minibar etc. Staff are friendly and helpful and the view from the restaurant fantastic. The restaurant is big enough that the tables are not jammed in and has high ceilings so quiet conversation is possible.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fionna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed here recently as tour manager with an American group and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel was very different from the more traditional hotels we used elsewhere during the tour, but I enjoyed my stay in this ultra-modern building with its view over the racecourse and its useful proximity to the town centre.

Being modern it does rather lack character, but I found it spacious and comfortable and the staff generally helpful and friendly, though on occasions reception staff seemed a little impersonal and unsmiling. The food was good and the fifth floor restaurant was an excellent place to breakfast - with a balcony from which to view the surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MauriceWilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel was very high quality, and the price was very reasonable. The bedroom was very spacious and incredibly comfortable, with a nice view of the city. Everything was very clean and tidy, and there were no signs of anything broken or damaged. I would definitely stay there again


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I booked one of the penthouse suites at a cost of £488 for one night bed and breakfast. We got there at around 2.30pm to be told the room was not available, when the room was available, nobody offers to show you to your room, we got out of the lift to find the key card had not been activated. We got into the room to find the balcony had not been cleaned and there were weeds in the stones. We we're also not informed that there were 3 penthouse suites and we're not given a choice of which one ewe would like. Later we attempted to book room service, you would think that would be simple, we rang the number it was un obtainable, we rang reception, they put it through to the restaurant, they told us they could not take the order and to try the original number again in 10 minutes. We eventually ordered food after approximately 25 minutes. The following morning, after breakfast the chamber maid came in at 10.30 to see if we had left. Overall would not recommend .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Chester

Property: Abode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Abode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
Abode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing