We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great food, waste of time wi-fi”
Review of Abode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Abode Chester
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great food, waste of time wi-fi”
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Rooms nice, reasonable value (altho car park at £10 is rip-off). Food is amazing. Let down is a really dreadful wi-fi arrangement. Crap connect procedure that just doesn't work, so if you need Internet access.... Forget it!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiedmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    996
    627
    291
    86
    52
See reviews for
162
1,278
39
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Stayed for two nights only in July. The location so near to Chester city centre coupled with a decent clean new hotel was too good to resist. Parking in Chester is a nightmare so the underground car park was very handy.
The rooms were clean and new/modern. The food was good ( well I liked it but my Chinese wife was not so keen) and the ambience realxing and chic-ish. A great choice for the city centre were the alternatives are high end B&B (roughtly same price) or much more expensive 4/5 star hotels. Would definetely stay again as long as the rates stay reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I stayed at this hotel in July. On check-in staff where pleasant, and room was of excellent quality. Possibly the best part of this hotel was the bed...Very very very comfortable and was hard to crawl out of in the morning for breakfast after a night on the shandies....Speaking of breakfast, it was a pleasant surprise to find that you have to order off a menu. I am beginning to hate the hot buffet breakfast every other hotel seems to serve. The eggs benedict was delightful.....One funny occurrence you might want to look out for was the in room snacks...Someone before us had eaten the chocolate and crisps and placed the wrappers back as if the hadn't been touched!! Very sneaky but this should have been checked! Another downside was we had to pay for £10 for parking at the hotel...Apart from that I would definitely recommended a stay here..

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulThomas46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Stayed here with my girlfriend for a weekend and we were both very impressed. Lovely room with HUGE bed overlooking the race course. The bathroom was spotless and very modern but then the hotel was only about 10 weeks old. Staff were all lovely and happy to help and the breakfast was excellent (not too greasy with everything you could think of on offer).

Car park £10 directly underneath the hotel. Well worth the money as local parking could prove tricky. The price was £100 per night for a "desirable" room - more than we'd usually spend but well worth the money for a nice weeked. The beds really are the most comfortable beds EVER.

Only downside was a problem with the room key (twice didn't work). Staff were all over this and soon let us in though.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyres11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2010

our stay at the abode was fantastic! the hotel is modern, the staff are polite and helpfull and the room was one of the best i have seen in a hotel, flat screen t.v, beautiful bathroom, we wanted to take it with us!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ribbitflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Stayed at hotel in july and was our last stop on a week long u.k. road trip.
found the entrance to the hotel car park a little confusing and not clearly sign posted , but once you press the hotel button you are guided to the hotels allocated car parking spaces,temporary signs then tell you where the lifts are.(buttons marked inside lift labeled for reception would be a good idea )minor grumbles over, once inside the hotel check in was quick and friendly, rooms were modern bright and clean and the beds huge and very comfortable. the bathroom and shower excellent. veiws from our room were a bonus overlooking the racecourse and welsh hills in the distance. our indulgence package came with a beautiful bouquet of flowers petit foirs and a meal in the fabulous michael cains restaurant where the food and service were exceptional not to mention the view. lunch in the cafe / bar again was excellent with good service and helpful staff.room service was prompt and effiicient and the food once again very good . we only planned to stay one night but liked chester and this terrific hotel so much that we decided to stay an extra night. if you have a chance to stay at this new hotel you wont be dissappointed with either the food , rooms or the service, all in all a great hotel with a great location. once you find your way in . we plan to revisit

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badger32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benfleet
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We booked our room on late rooms and so were unsure of what we would find on arrival. We were not disappointed in any way. The Hotel itself is beautiful, modern and furnished to a very high standard. If its location you are loooking for then this is the place to stay,breathtaking views over the beautiful city of Chester and the Racecourse. you are minutes walk from the centre of town which is well worth a visit. The champagne bar loacted on the 5th floor is a perfect setting for a quiet drink or even a late breakfast. The rooms are luxury and the standard of cleanliness could not be faulted. The staff were very friendly and helpful from arrival to checking out. Room service is 24 hours for any night owls. We did not eat in the main restaurand however we ate in the bar downstairs and the standard of food and value for money was exceptional. It really is a first class place to stay without the high price tag. We will definately be going back and would not hesitate to reccoment this hotel to anyone. It is a must if looking for somewhere to stay in Chester .

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joolesbenfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,610 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,074 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Chester

Property: Abode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Abode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
Abode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing