We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Found the Abode perfect in every way. The car park was easy to find, just to right of main entrance and look for the spaces marked with "H". Our room was ready even though it was only 11.30 am, room spacious and very modern with the most comfortable bed ever.

Excellent location, head down Grosvenor Street and you will soon be in the centre. As previous reviews have said the breakfast and the choices were excellent and perfectly cooked. The thing that set this hotel above others we have stayted in was the attention to detail and the politeness of all the staff we came across. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,106 - 2,112 of 2,160 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2010

Stayed at the Abode for 2 nights in Sept after it was recommended by a friend. We stayed in a comfortable room which was really big with everything you need in it, staff were really nice, breakfast was very good quality and plenty of it BUT to get into the hotel itself took us a good twenty minutes as we missed the turning to get into the car park
( they are waiting council permission to put up signs) so ended up circling a couple of times then once in the lift there is no sign to say which is button for reception (its 0) went up and down a few floors til we came across a staff member. As said everything else was good, location abt 7-10 mins walk, nice walk along the river to get to town as well.
Would recommend this hotel and are planning to stay again in Nov. Although will be asking for a quieter room next time as we were in a room (207) above the bar and saturday night they had a wedding party so music was on til 2am and sleep was disturbed. I think this has been mentioned in a previous review.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waktolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Stayed at short notice and was attracted by the free breakfast, we visit Chester a lot and normally stay at the Crowne Plaza, i will now be switching to the Abode, the free breakfast included in the price was a plus point, we didnt eat in the restaurant but believe it is nice and reasonable, we will definately be back and can recommend this hotel, just be aware of the £10 charge for the car park, also security with the strict access to floors and rooms is very safe.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Myself and my husband booked this hotel as a last minute bank holiday break. We payed £89.00, including breakfast, which was excellent value for money.
Upon arrival at the hotel however, a few issues to note- the carpark in confusing to get in to- make sure you use the intercom which is about 20 metres from the enterance otherwise you will not beable to get in. Parking is pricy at £10.00 per night, but at least it is secure and on-site parking. Also, we arrived to check in at 2pm and our room was not ready, which was a bit annonying.
Once we got to our room, they are very clean, modern and welcoming. The bed is extremely comfortable, although the pillows arn't!
We chose to have dinner in Michael Caines restaurant- although the food was delicius and the waiting staff in the restaurant were very good, the service in the bar next door was terrible- we waitied 30 minutes for two drinks to arrive and the bar was not even busy. When we complained we did get the price of the drinks taken off the final bill, which was the least they could have done.
Breakfast in the hotel was really tasty. Location into Chester was ideal.
On the whole a positive experience, although I believe the hotel and restaurant need to improve in service.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bex30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting the city. Its in a great location just inside the old city walls and overlooking the racecourse. We had the 2nd level of room which was relatively large and had a beautiful spacious modern bathroom, room for a couple of chairs, desk, large flat screen tv and dvd player.

So why only "almost " great? Well, firstly there is the parking - its easy enough to find the entrance to the underground car park, but once in there is no guide to where you should park, which is an issue given that it is a shared space with neighbouring residents and the offices. Once parked it took us quite a while to work out where the car park entrance to the hotel was and so wandered around in circles for a while - some clear signage would be highly advisable!

Secondly, we had the room right above the bar and on the 2nd night the music was clearly audible in our room to the extent we needed to use our ear plugs to get to sleep. This is probably only an issue for the few rooms directly above, but definitley worth asking for a higher floor level..

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pi314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I thought this hotel was great and let me tell you, I take a lot of pleasing when it comes to hotels. I prefer staying in self catering cottages but we were looking for somewhere last minute and there were no cottages available around Chester - so a hotel it was! Well we wasn't disappointed and glad we read the reviews on Trip Advisor.

The Abode is in a great position right next to the city walls and the racecourse and only a very short walk to the Eastgate Clock, Cathedral and my wife's favourite attraction, the shops! It is in a much better position than all the hotels on Hoole Road which are a very long walk to the city centre. There is parking available underneath the hotel which was really simple with ample parking spaces and easy access from the main road (although I did miss the entrance to the car park, which is on the front right of the hotel.

We stayed in a "Standard" Double room and if this was standard, the "Fabulous" room must be something else! Our room was great. It had a good view of the castle and the river and we had our own little balcony. My wife absolutely loved the shower room and now wants the same at home! The bed was really comfortable and we slept quite well. It was nice not to hear bedroom doors slamming in the middle of the night. All the doors in the hotel closed slowly and quietly - Top marks to whoever fitted them!

The hotel is almost brand new and it looks great inside and out and the whole place has that new smell to it like a brand new car has.

Breakfast is chosen from a menu and is excellent, especially the eggs benedict. You can also help yourselves to the continental breakfast and you are served with lots of toast and preserves - it really is good and there is no tinned fruit in sight just fresh! The only negative I can pick up on is that the tables for breakfast were a bit too close together which makes it slighly uneasy when talking over breakfast. It would be so much better if the tables were spaced out a bit more - this is our only criticism

We really enjoyed our stay at the Abode Chester and would definately return if visiting Chester again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dadie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We booked the Ormonde Suite for a special celebration evening and night, and drove there. Firstly the signage in the car park was hopeless, very difficult to find where we were to park, and on leaving even more difficult to find our car. (Need to look for 'H' slots, and there is a very small sign near by). Rather confusing corridors to walk through from the car park to Hotel reception.
Check in was efficient and pleasant.
We then took the lift that goes to 6th floor and had to walk down rather cramped corridors to find our room, it was a big room, but not a suite. For the price my husband thought it was unacceptable just to have a sofa extra. Very impressive and stylish, extremely comfortable big bed and spectacular bathroom with all sorts of clever lighting and a good selection of toiletries.
Bit surprised to find burnt out matches on the toilet floor.
One of the reasons for choosing the Ormonde Suite was the balcony with spectacular views over Chester Castle, Race Course, Welsh Hills etc in the background, unfortunately when we were there it rained all afternoon, but it would have been a great setting for a drink or breakfast.
There was a downspout for rainwater which was a bit noisy as we had so much rain.
Husband was very disappointed and surprised not to be able to watch Sky Sports for the test match despite it being on the channel list. Reception confirmed it was not available.
My iPhone did not work with the iPod music system. The wifi connection was as previously mentioned hideously complicated, fortunately I could use GPS on my phone.
There was not a huge amount of storage space, but presumably people stay for short stays. There was a kettle and iron and safe but no fridge in room.
Bed was extremely comfortable with great bedding and we slept like logs.
Bathroom was very stylish with walk through shower, not as high powered as I would have expected. Nice toiletries and towels and lots of them everywhere.
I was amused by the use of the ABode logo on items eg 'ABit of a lather' on the soap etc.
We met our son during the afternoon at 'ABar' downstairs which was almost deserted but playing very loud music, we didn't stay long. Son had a snack from the bar menu which was pretty similar to the MC Cafe Bar menu.
Separate reviews of Restaurant and Cafe Bar.
We were still full from the night before in the morning so skipped breakfast but made use of tea and coffee and biscuits in the room.
Not too sure how well we would recommend the hotel, I have a more up beat view of the hotel than my husband did, but then, he paid the bill!
Overall this was an extremely expensive night out which we had thought worth while to celebrate our anniversary, but in summary it was overpriced for what it delivered.
We paid just less than £500 for the room,lunch and drinks etc.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,746 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,533 reviews
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 45 in Chester
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £75 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing