We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!”
Review of ABode Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Chester
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed 19 September 2010

My husband booked a suite here as a surprise for my birthday on the 8th. On reading some reviews he rang ahead for instructions for getting into the underground car park,which we then found straight away and were let in by the receptionist. The lift was easy to find and we arrived at reception with no problem. Check in was straightforward and we took the lift straight up to "Fabulous on Sixth". The suite was probably the largest hotel room we have ever stayed in. It was quite simply stunning in every way. Dark wood panelled walls, floor to ceiling windows with a huge balcony with lovely views over the city, a beautiful roll top bath and separate wet room, massive leather sofa and a huge luxurious bed, and a great sound system with ipod dock, along with two flat screen tv's. My husband had booked us in for dinner in the restaurant on the fifth floor. We had cocktails in the bar before choosing the seven course tasting menu. We have stayed and dined at Abode Manchester three times and the standard of the food at Chester was equally as good. All the staff were polite and attentive and we were given a lovely table by the window overlooking the racecourse. I am sure we will have no problem staying in any of the rooms in this beautiful hotel in future and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    628
    291
    87
    52
See reviews for
162
1,280
39
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Tried to call hotel night before to book – phone rang for 5 minutes but when it was eventually answered I was told to call them in the morning! It didn’t put us off and we booked on-line to stay one night.

Arrived at hotel and parked in the underground parking; was told to park in a space marked with an H and it well signed to get to hotel reception. We’d booked a Desirable room; the hotel was very clean, the hotel was very contemporary and modern. The room itself was lovely and spacious with a large bathroom and good views over Chester racecourse. The bed was the most comfortable bed I slept on but the down side was it felt like my head was slightly lower than my legs and woke up with a head ache in the early hours of the morning.

All the staff were very accommodating and friendly. We had a meal in Michael Caines on Fifth – well worth a visit as it was excellent quality and service was second to none; even husband was impressed (and he’s an especially hard to please chef). Breakfast was part of the stay and free the food was again of a high standard and hot with eager to please serving staff.

Overall excellent stay - next time we go away - we will be staying with Abode Hotels

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groovy0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Found the Abode perfect in every way. The car park was easy to find, just to right of main entrance and look for the spaces marked with "H". Our room was ready even though it was only 11.30 am, room spacious and very modern with the most comfortable bed ever.

Excellent location, head down Grosvenor Street and you will soon be in the centre. As previous reviews have said the breakfast and the choices were excellent and perfectly cooked. The thing that set this hotel above others we have stayted in was the attention to detail and the politeness of all the staff we came across. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberystwyth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Stayed at the Abode for 2 nights in Sept after it was recommended by a friend. We stayed in a comfortable room which was really big with everything you need in it, staff were really nice, breakfast was very good quality and plenty of it BUT to get into the hotel itself took us a good twenty minutes as we missed the turning to get into the car park
( they are waiting council permission to put up signs) so ended up circling a couple of times then once in the lift there is no sign to say which is button for reception (its 0) went up and down a few floors til we came across a staff member. As said everything else was good, location abt 7-10 mins walk, nice walk along the river to get to town as well.
Would recommend this hotel and are planning to stay again in Nov. Although will be asking for a quieter room next time as we were in a room (207) above the bar and saturday night they had a wedding party so music was on til 2am and sleep was disturbed. I think this has been mentioned in a previous review.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waktolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Stayed at short notice and was attracted by the free breakfast, we visit Chester a lot and normally stay at the Crowne Plaza, i will now be switching to the Abode, the free breakfast included in the price was a plus point, we didnt eat in the restaurant but believe it is nice and reasonable, we will definately be back and can recommend this hotel, just be aware of the £10 charge for the car park, also security with the strict access to floors and rooms is very safe.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Myself and my husband booked this hotel as a last minute bank holiday break. We payed £89.00, including breakfast, which was excellent value for money.
Upon arrival at the hotel however, a few issues to note- the carpark in confusing to get in to- make sure you use the intercom which is about 20 metres from the enterance otherwise you will not beable to get in. Parking is pricy at £10.00 per night, but at least it is secure and on-site parking. Also, we arrived to check in at 2pm and our room was not ready, which was a bit annonying.
Once we got to our room, they are very clean, modern and welcoming. The bed is extremely comfortable, although the pillows arn't!
We chose to have dinner in Michael Caines restaurant- although the food was delicius and the waiting staff in the restaurant were very good, the service in the bar next door was terrible- we waitied 30 minutes for two drinks to arrive and the bar was not even busy. When we complained we did get the price of the drinks taken off the final bill, which was the least they could have done.
Breakfast in the hotel was really tasty. Location into Chester was ideal.
On the whole a positive experience, although I believe the hotel and restaurant need to improve in service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bex30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting the city. Its in a great location just inside the old city walls and overlooking the racecourse. We had the 2nd level of room which was relatively large and had a beautiful spacious modern bathroom, room for a couple of chairs, desk, large flat screen tv and dvd player.

So why only "almost " great? Well, firstly there is the parking - its easy enough to find the entrance to the underground car park, but once in there is no guide to where you should park, which is an issue given that it is a shared space with neighbouring residents and the offices. Once parked it took us quite a while to work out where the car park entrance to the hotel was and so wandered around in circles for a while - some clear signage would be highly advisable!

Secondly, we had the room right above the bar and on the 2nd night the music was clearly audible in our room to the extent we needed to use our ear plugs to get to sleep. This is probably only an issue for the few rooms directly above, but definitley worth asking for a higher floor level..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pi314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,616 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,083 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.4 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Chester

Property: ABode Chester
Address: Grosvenor Road, Chester CH1 2DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unparalleled views of England’s oldest working racecourse, the contemporary ABode Chester offers a warm welcome in the heart of the city, complemented by exceptional fine dining and a modern, stylish and sophisticated design. Individually designed bedrooms, contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Enjoy relaxed, sophisticated dining at Brasserie Abode, light bites and plats du jour in the Brasserie Abode Bar or relax with a cocktail in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Chester Hotel Chester
ABode Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing