We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location Third Class Hotel”
Review of The Ormonde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ormonde
Ranked #37 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Location Third Class Hotel”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

As stated great location close to town and train station, but the hotel needs lots of TLC walls need fixing, washrooms not good, no shampoo provided. Not overly clean, needs redecorating. But definately cheap.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    34
    21
    16
    32
See reviews for
9
56
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed here in June and were horrified with this place.

First of all, to stay somewhere for £40 per night our expectations were fairly low - but this place is going about daylight robbery. The place is pretty much a scam and don't be fooled into thinking that "you get what you pay for". Here, you do not. The place is so bad it should be closed down and should cost at best £10 a night for what you will experience.

A few lowlights for us

- dirty sheets
- dried diarrhoea on toilet and on bathroom walls
- litter and dirt under the beds, I didn't dare look more closely
- burnt out, dangerous plug sockets
- horrendous musty and mouldy smell
- uncomfortable beds with springs sticking in your back
- nasty dated decor

The staff seemed also to have worked out not to be on the scene in the morning. We were so appalled with the faeces splattered in the bathroom that we wanted our money back. But the staff were nowhere to be seen. The really worrying thing was that several "cleans" of the room had failed to pick up the crap in the bathroom.

This is truly the worst place we have ever stayed and we felt robbed.

I would give this NO STARS if that were possible and think it should be CLOSED DOWN.

I reiterate, plenty of places are cheap and cheerful. This is a downright rip off.

Please don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RM1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Rooms not up to much but adequate. Clean bed and room. Breakfast was fine although no choices given. Staff very friendly and helpful. Free parking and early check in a bonus. Could do with a woman's touch. Stayed here on race day so it was a bargain.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreww655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Its in a good location 10 minute walk into the city centre. From the outside it looks okay. you eat breakfast in the reception! the rooms: the walls are extremely thin (we could hear someone opening their curtains a few doors down!)
The shower goes from boiling hot to freezing cold on its own.
The toilet seat in the bathroom was falling off.
No towel rails
No wardrobes
After sleeping in that bed my legs were covered in bites!!
They were eager to get rid of us in the morning, knocking on the door early.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophyPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

First off the staff were very friendly and accomodating, no problems there, nothing was too much for them and was impressed! Enjoyed breakfast too, full english but didn't get asked what we may like or not like..but we liked it all so no other issues with that. But!! Smell of damp hits you as soon as! Bought some Oust air freshener which helped a lot!! Needs a big overall maintainance re-fit throughout! If on a tight budget would say you get what you pay for and on the plus side it is only around the corner from the train station.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

My friend booked this hotel for one night's stay just before Christmas. After logging onto this site and reading the reviews we arrived with what can only be called trepidation and were shown to our room only to be quite pleasantly surprised. I assume the hotel wasnt busy so we had been "upgraded" to a family room that, although it would have looked much smarter if the sheets had been ironed, was very clean and had 3 beds. Okay.. the decor could of been better and there was one tiny damp spot in the corner but apart from that the room, shower and toilet included, were clean and seeing as we didnt spend much time at the hotel it was perfect for what we wanted and at only £20 per head (yes.. we went to the well known pub chain for breakfast) i honestly cant grumble. Id not recommend this hotel for people with high expectations but for a one night stay the location's good and the staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanneManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

what a dreadful place? arrived and given room key, a double room with en-suite, stalegtites from damp coming in from the ceiling, tiles peeling off he wall in the shower, bits of grout in the shower base that have obviously fallen off the wall. on request moved to another room which was slightly better but very dirty. The breakfast was alright but not great, a well known pub does a better one cheaper in the city centre, personally this is the worse hotel we have stayed in.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#40 of 44 in Chester
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#39 of 44 in Chester
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bunkroom
The Bunkroom
#6 of 25 in Chester
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quarterz
Quarterz
#55 of 79 in Chester
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fifteens of Chester
Fifteens of Chester
#9 of 25 in Chester
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ormonde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ormonde

Property: The Ormonde
Address: 126 Brook Street, Chester CH1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Ormonde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ormonde Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing