We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a gem, will return.”
Review of George & Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
George & Dragon
Ranked #66 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Booked this hotel as a last minute getaway just before easter. Well located at the city end of liverpool road with a substantial car park, it was not hard to find. My booking details had gone astray but this was easily rectified by the helpful, but busy girl who checked me in. Room was a small, yet very comfortable en-suite double with tv, tea/coffee facilities etc. Throughout our two night stay the staff were all polite and efficient, a credit to this place! We ate in the pub one evening which was good value and each morning the breakfasts were more than ample. The pub itself does not try to be something its not, a big place with a central bar and a fair mixture of locals and tourists which created a warm atmosphere. The location is also very good, being a short walk to the town centre. I wouldnt hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Leave booking till late if you can, as discounts can sometimes be had!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank w1lls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
There are newer reviews for George & Dragon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here and everything is just perfect, it is within a couple of minutes walk from the city centre, has a car park, serves a lovely breakfast and the staff are great, very friendly. The rooms themselves are very clean with tea & coffee making facilities and a tv, plenty of storage space, ideal for the amount of time that we tend to stay in the room. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravellingRooster42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Myself and my friends met up at 7.30pm on a Thursday evening to go to this pub, as in our Uni days it was our favourite place to hang out, chill and get some decent grub. We know its not Michelin style food, but it's good value for money and its good portion size, however we were left very disappointed. My food came out way before my friends, and my chicken was burnt, my friends then came out and they hadn't put gravy with it as stated on the menu, and the waitress left before we could ask her about it. Then my other friends food took 25 more minutes before it came out and she eventually had to go to the bar to ask about her food, but because the bar was getting busy at that point it was ages before she was spoken to. Then her food came out and it was wrong! They took it back to the kitchen, and during this point a man set up karaoke so we couldn't hear ourselves talk! Quite clearly there was some sort of mis - communication here and there wasn't enough staff on to deal with this correctly. I feel the pub would benefit from creating a separate area for diners only after a certain time so there food isn't rudely interrupted by terrible singing..

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

A busy bed and breakfast pub with 14 rooms. Chose this for a visit to Chester as it is near to city centre and has a car park and was resonably priced. We checked in quickly and were given a keypad code to access the stairway to our room. The room itself was v clean with ensuite shower, the usual tea/coffee making facilities and a portable tv that kept losing sound (I meant to mention it but forgot). It wasnt too hot in the room either, I usually find this a problem in hotels as I cant sleep if the room is too warm, so that was good. We had a late lunch there and the food was really good, freshly cooked and well priced. Other pubs in the city were v expensive in comparison. Slept v well, no noise. Breakfast was excellent and again cooked to order - refreshing. Would definitely stay again if visiting Chester

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Great atmosphere with friendly accomodating management and staff. Very relaxing with easy access to town which is a really nice place to visit. King sized bed was great, soooo comfy with crisp clean sheets nearly missed breakfast which was fresh and plentiful!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Convenient location in Chester and very cheap night stay. As expected from a room above a pub it was a bit noisy until closing time but fine afterwards. The room was dated but very clean and comfortable. Nice large breakfast, freshly cooked for you in the morning. Good address for a short stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaFilleEnEcosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This is a Pub with rooms and not a Hotel, so bear that in mind. Graet place though. Close to the city centre, clean, tidy and food and drink is good value for money (Especially if you come from the south). I'd recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#35 of 44 in Chester
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
0.5 mi away
The Ormonde
The Ormonde
#32 of 78 in Chester
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bridge Street Townhouse
Bridge Street Townhouse
#18 of 78 in Chester
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ye Olde King's Head
Ye Olde King's Head
#4 of 78 in Chester
419 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Saddle Inn
The Saddle Inn
#7 of 78 in Chester
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Dragon

Address: 1 Liverpool Road, Chester CH2 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £42 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Dragon 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the city centre, the George & Dragon offers excellent value accommodation with complimentary car parking. The rooms are above a pub that opens until 1am at weekends and feature a variety of entertainments. Pub food is also served. Rooms are reserved on a 'room only' basis and there are many local places to have breakfast. Satellite TV in the pub shows a variety of sporting events. The George & Dragon is in a fun lively location in which to base your stay. You can easily explore the city on foot. Located in the University part of the City, The pub attracts a young customer who enjoys the music and entertainment in the pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your George & Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Dragon Hotel Chester
George And Dragon
George & Dragon Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing