We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”
Review of George & Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
George & Dragon
Ranked #64 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 June 2013

my husband and i and my daughter and her husband recently spent 2 nights at the George and Dragon Pub .Chester.It was easy to find and there was a car park for our car.We checked in and found the rooms were clean and adequate for our needs. i felt that the hotel needed refurbishing but the staff were friendly and the breakfast was very nice. it was a fairly short walk into the city centre or you could get a taxi for £3. We spent a pleasant few hours at Chester Zoo which is well worth a visit.We had dinner out at Upstairs at the Grill which was excellant but quite expensive.on the saturday evening we went to a nice italian called Sergios which was excellant and half the price.Would probably stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedcarJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night and are glad we hadn't booked for a longer stay. The room we found to be dated and unclean. The carpet looked as though it had not been hoovered for a while. The tea and coffee making facilities were inadequate, the spoon had to be washed before use as this looked as though it had not been swapped for a clean one after the last use of the room. The shower was also far too hot to be used, we had to use a towel over our hand in order to turn this down to prevent scolding ourselves from the heat. There were dogs in the room above us which kept barking.
On a positive note the staff were inviting as we checked in and the hotel is in the perfect location for accessing the town centre.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel last week, for what we payed we shouldn't moan, the location is good, breakfast good full English, staff obliging, the bedroom basic with two steps down too the bed could be nasty if you decide too go too the loo in middle of night!! Because the bathroom is above the two steps, must say bed linen clean, the hotel could do with a makeover it's well overdue, as we only stayed one night it was ok for us wouldn't like too have stayed longer though.

Room Tip: Can't help there sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevada115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed for one night 13 may.Only a short walk to town,
Room was small but cleen and tidy.no channel 3 and 4 on tv for some reason,no bulb in bedside light, that apart it was ok.Breakfast good and staff were friendly.make a good base for a couple of days,and chester well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T.C.22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Althought the room was clean and tidy , the accomodation was not all that good . The staff were over worked as they seemed to be short staffed serving food as well as working behind the bar at the same time. You get what you pay for with the food too cheap and cheerful although apple pie was lovely . Then bed time came , i understand it was a pub and there would be music it did go off at 11.30 pm . Then early hours the managers dog decided to run around above us for about 15 minutes in time gaps of 10 -15 mins as you finally fell asleep in between this time was woken again by it jumping about and one point barking . it was about 1 - 2 in morning onwards and then again about 4am . i did complain to the manageress who said sorry you didnt get any sleep but my dog is usually quiet and some drunk was trying to get into my flat she was not at all sympathetic . it was worse as my boyfriend had half marathon in the morning.we would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vee123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We arrived at the hotel at approximately 12.45 pm on Bank Holiday Monday, 6 May 2013 and were greeted by what we thought was a member of staff but turned out to be a customer who has stayed at the hotel many times before. He pointed us in the right direction so that we could check in. We told the lad behind the bar that we weren't sure what time we could check in from and he said that we could check in straightaway but that the room might not be ready (as it wasn't) but we could put our bags straight in. We were grateful that we didn't have to wait to check in as we had arranged to meet friends that afternoon and weren't planning on being back too early. The bed was lovely and comfortable, as we had what they called the "posh" room, the one with the sleigh bed. The bathroom was clean but we did take our own towels as another reviewer had mentioned that the towels were tiny and he was right - they are the size I would wrap round my head. I also do agree that a bin would have been nice in the bedroom as well as the bathroom. The bath is huge and the water is VERY hot. We used the bath on one occasion as we were aching from the amount of walking we had done round Chester. The location is convenient and there was a reasonable size car park. We are not really breakfast people but we did go down the first morning and you could have whatever you wanted. We generally went out every day but we always finished off in the hotel bar for one drink before going up to bed and the staff were very friendly. I would recommend the hotel but mainly if you are going as a couple as it is over a pub.

Room Tip: Ask for room 30 - this is the one with the sleigh bed and it is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NolineSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is more of a B&B rather than a hotel. We stayed in a double room which was more suited to a single bed or bunk beds as it was so small you couldn't walk around the bed as there wasn't enough room. The room was a garish yellow in colour and desperately needed redecorating and a new bathroom to get rid of the black damp mould spots in the shower. if you are after a quiet relaxing break then this is not the place to stay, the pub is in the middle of a central reservation and surrounded by a busy main road also the noise from the pub below is continuous until closing time. Also we were woken at 07.45am on Bank Holiday Monday by a booze delivery.

The place is perfectly located close to the city centre this, the breakfast and the friendly staff is the only good thing about this place. Great for stag do's who only want a place to stay for a few hours.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen21_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
0.5 mi away
The Ormonde
The Ormonde
#26 of 76 in Chester
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Trafford Hall
Trafford Hall
#1 of 1 in Wimbolds Trafford
116 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Saddle Inn
The Saddle Inn
#6 of 76 in Chester
255 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Farndon
The Farndon
#60 of 76 in Chester
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Dragon

Address: 1 Liverpool Road, Chester CH2 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £29 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Dragon 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the city centre, the George & Dragon offers excellent value accommodation with complimentary car parking. The rooms are above a pub that opens until 1am at weekends and feature a variety of entertainments. Pub food is also served. Rooms are reserved on a 'room only' basis and there are many local places to have breakfast. Satellite TV in the pub shows a variety of sporting events. The George & Dragon is in a fun lively location in which to base your stay. You can easily explore the city on foot. Located in the University part of the City, The pub attracts a young customer who enjoys the music and entertainment in the pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your George & Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Dragon Hotel Chester
George And Dragon
George & Dragon Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing