We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good rooms.”
Review of George & Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
George & Dragon
Ranked #63 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, good rooms.”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed one night. Visiting daughter at Chester Uni. Booked a triple room for myself, husband and son. Room clean, beds comfortable. A bit dated. Stayed Saturday night - noise from street (but on a main road, so noise from cars and returning students - to be expected). Breakfast good. No shower gel in bathroom and no phone, so had to get dressed to go and find some, then get undressed for shower, no hairdryer. Tea and coffee making facilities + nice biscuits.Had lunch there on the Sat, when we arrived - very obviously microwaved.
Overall ok, would stay again as it is 2 mins from daughters accommodation and close to center.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catmcmanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    63
    57
    27
    28
See reviews for
27
105
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This pub/inn is situated close to town just outside the city walls.
our room was small but adequate, Its a bit unfair for people to book a room in a town centre pub and then complain about road noise and customer noise.
Breakfast was poor, hot water for tea/coffee was in a communal flask and wasn't very hot.
We probably wouldn't stay here again, but if you are just looking for somewhere to get your head down close to town, then this spot will suffice .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetpea-and-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

A bit of a strange stay, in all honesty.
The positives first of all. The pub/hotel is very convenient to access the centre of Chester, is easy to get to and the bed in the luxury room we booked was very comfortable.
For the money we paid though, and considering it was the luxury room we booked, that's about it.
The room itself looked tired, we couldn't close one of the windows and you could smell food cooking when you were in the bathroom. When accessing the hotel part of the building you had to go via the back entrance, which also had a strong and unpleasant smell of food.
We stayed for two nights and the milk and sugar hadn't been replenished on the second day.
The Wifi we were told we could access in every room didn't work - the network couldn't be picked up from anywhere in the luxury room. We asked about this and were given a rather blasé response by the manager.
The breakfast in the morning was fine, although a menu would have been nice,
It's also a very, very noisy hotel to stay in! While I appreciate the pub part of the business has to thrive, the karaoke went on until midnight which left parts of our room shaking, it was that loud. It doesn't appear the hotel part of the business is as important as the pub section.
Would we stay here again? No.
If you like strong smelling cooking food when in the bathroom, loud music until the early hours and not being able to access the advertised Wifi, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Rochester NY
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We arrived before check-in time and left our bags with the manager. Came back to a very small room (fine for one person) that overlooked the main road. Noises were from the pub patrons gathering outside, not from the traffic. The room was clean, tv issues were addressed after one day, breakfast was fine, and the meals we had in the pub were good. The location is about a 5 minute walk to the city walls. Two nights here were okay, but I would look elsewhere for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here whilst umpiring cricket a Boughton Hall.
Friendly greeting and everything explained.
Room was small overlooking main road but reasonable secondary glazing kept out most if the noise.
Couldnt get the tv to work but not really bothered anyway.
Breakfast was fine, they would meet any request I expect.
Convenient for City Centre, about 5 minutes walk via an underpass.
All in all a basic but value for money hostelry which I would use again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b16dnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just returned back from staying at this hotel with my fiancé and what can I say we didn't know what to really expect as there where different reviews good and bad. But we can say It was well worth the money, booking in was so easy and hassle free, staff very friendly, rooms small but clean and had everything that you needed.. Bar Excellent and very good prices on food and drinks, it was situated in a good location only 5 minutes walk to the town centre and 8 minutes drive to the zoo. We will defiantly return and will highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elblag, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

There was just nothing good about this place at all, you enter the hotel through a smelly arch, where the vent from the kitchen oozez congeled fat (If you smoke this is the place). The reception is a yea whatever, here is your key. The massive wallpapered soil pipe boxing you have to avoid halfway up the stairs accentuates the 1978 decor. The very small room had a bit of renovation in the shower cubicle, wet wall boards (only 10 years old) obviously stuck over where the tiles had fallen off (probably avocado), had managed to keep the same shower though which was the cheapest model when it was first installed, on...cold...ahhh...no where to go...please get warm soon, the cups, spoons and kettle enjoyed a good wash though and are still probably clean enough for you to use. To get round the bed you had to do a side ways shuffle on the sticky, soiled carpet as there's no room to walk. The poor old telly was on its last legs, but was being supported by its old friend the Betamax.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dziky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#39 of 44 in Chester
947 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
0.6 mi away
Quarterz
Quarterz
#55 of 79 in Chester
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
0.9 mi away
Chester House Guest House
0.7 mi away
Bridge Street Townhouse
Bridge Street Townhouse
#21 of 79 in Chester
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Dragon

Property: George & Dragon
Address: 1 Liverpool Road, Chester CH2 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Dragon 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the city centre, the George & Dragon offers excellent value accommodation with complimentary car parking. The rooms are above a pub that opens until 1am at weekends and feature a variety of entertainments. Pub food is also served. Rooms are reserved on a 'room only' basis and there are many local places to have breakfast. Satellite TV in the pub shows a variety of sporting events. The George & Dragon is in a fun lively location in which to base your stay. You can easily explore the city on foot. Located in the University part of the City, The pub attracts a young customer who enjoys the music and entertainment in the pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your George & Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George And Dragon
George & Dragon Hotel Chester
George & Dragon Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing