We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for town centre Chester with free parking”
Review of George & Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
George & Dragon
Ranked #65 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 June 2010

This hotel is in easy walking distance of the town centre, the staff are friendly and professional, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent.
Only gripe is they like their television I counted 5 in the bar on at full blast , we were going to stay for a meal which was very cheap and cheerful but the television was just too intrusive. They even had it on at breakfast time

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison-keighley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 234 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2010

Ihave just returned from a stay at the george and dragon liverpol road chester and have with some surprise just read the other review on this site My expirience was of a totally different stay I called into the hotel as it was the first I came across near the centre of chester as I was there to eat in one of the restaurants in the city. On arrival i was booked in by the manageress who was extremely polite helpful and proffesional she when she knew what i was there for printed off menus for the restaurants I was concidering eating at I was told where they were and even offered a taxi service When i went to my room it was spotless and very welcoming I returned to the bar for a couple of drinks and found the staff to be very friendly I dined in chester and returned to the hotel and went to the bar the manageress was around and she came to talk to me about my evening out she im sorry i cant remember her name had a long chat with me and wasnt loud or drunk as the othere review says so much was my enjoyment in this hotel I booked for another night The breakfast on both days was superb hot and lots of it I would recomend this hotel and as I am in the catering industry myself feel that if something is done right it needs recomending this certainly goes for the management and staff of this what i regard as a fine hostelery well done

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ste225858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

I haven't stayed here, but I attended the 'hotel' on an organised event which was hijacked by the manager and some of her staff and friends. They insisted on taking part and then proceeded to ruin our evening by drunkenly telling us how to go about our event and repeating themselves continually interrupting our proceedings, one person (a cleaner) being totally negative about what we were there to do. Suffice to say they killed the atmosphere amongst our group which had been great up to the point of arriving at this venue. What was alarming was that the manager and her staff were clearly not capable of taking charge of an emergency situation had it arisen and I witnessed staff using toilets in bedrooms that had been prepared to receive guests (not sure if they would have been cleaned again before being let out). The hotel accommodation seemed clean and modern, but I would warn anyone against choosing this for a stay in Chester because of the irresponsible behaviour of the staff. We couldn't get out of there fast enough and are seeking compensation!!!!

Stayed: April 2010
2  Thank JoSmithLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Kerkira96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy P, General Manager at George & Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
4.7 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#33 of 45 in Chester
533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Belgrave Hotel
Belgrave Hotel
#41 of 45 in Chester
202 reviews
4.4 mi away
Trafford Hall
Trafford Hall
#1 of 1 in Wimbolds Trafford
118 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Farndon
The Farndon
#59 of 76 in Chester
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Dragon

Address: 1 Liverpool Road, Chester CH2 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £28 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Dragon 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the city centre, the George & Dragon offers excellent value accommodation with complimentary car parking. The rooms are above a pub that opens until 1am at weekends and feature a variety of entertainments. Pub food is also served. Rooms are reserved on a 'room only' basis and there are many local places to have breakfast. Satellite TV in the pub shows a variety of sporting events. The George & Dragon is in a fun lively location in which to base your stay. You can easily explore the city on foot. Located in the University part of the City, The pub attracts a young customer who enjoys the music and entertainment in the pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your George & Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Dragon Hotel Chester
George And Dragon
George & Dragon Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing