We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was cold, dingy & noisey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bull and Stirrup Hotel
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Room was dark & dingy. Bathroom was very old fashioned!! The window was draughty and let in all the noise from the road below. As you accent up the stairs from the pub the stale smell becomes more apparant! It was relatively cheap but I would pay a little extra and stay somewhere else!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t16ffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2010

well done to the prorietors new menu 2 for 10.00 meals a winner plus your speciality roasts. staff excellent housekeeping bedrooms extremly clean the whole reception refurbishment decor very pleasing. highlight to sit in the garden quarter outside the floral display fantastic made all very much relaxed plus having their own car park took all the stress away. i have put them on our national website to promote them to both people on leisure and business. thanks to your team well done. richard and jayne.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonty070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Fantastic hotel with parking factilaty's, very rare in Chester. Excellent vallue for money.
Allen and Judith

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dahughes52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

My husband and I stayed here, whilst attending the races. Firstly we had a lovely welcome, the staff were so friendly. Our room was adequate,with new TV, clean and tidy, our bed was very comfy. One of the other benefits of staying here is that we had the benefit of the lovely walk through the City and around the walls. Although we were up early in the morning we only had coffee and didnt participate in breakfast, as we were rushing. Mr & Mrs Carson and staff made us so welcome. Thanks to all x

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0rgan1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

i stayed at the Bull and Stirrup hotel for 4 nights with my partner .We had a great time, the staff were friendly and polite .The room was of the highest standard and spotless. We w ould highly recommend a visit to the bar a good pint and friendly chat

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muriel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We stayed here for one night as a quick stop over and we would never return. The rooms are cheaper than most of the other hotels nearby but I wish that we had paid the extra and gone elsewhere. Our room was absolutely filthy, there were cobwebs in every corner and the TV was coated in a thick layer of dust. There were larges patches of mould on the wall in the bedroom and the ceiling in the bathroom. The bathroom was so dirty that we couldn't bring ourselves to step into the shower while we were there, and the toilet looked as if it had never seen bleach in its life! I walked around the room barefoot for about 5 minutes and the soles of my feet were black with dust and dirt. To be fair the bedding seemed clean but it was the only thing in the room that was. The staff were welcoming and friendly - but this didn't make up for the fact the room (and the whole building) was dirty and uncared for.

The Bull and Stirrup is ideally located for a walk into town where there are lots of nice bars and restaurants - which was handy because we didn't want to spend a minute longer in our room than we had to.

Breakfast was included in the room rate of £65 a night, however having seen the standards of cleanliness in the rest of the hotel - we didn't want to chance anything that came from the kitchen - so we gave it a miss.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukhappyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We didn't expect 4 star accommodation, after all it's a pub and it was only £65 per roon per night. We've stayed in plenty of pubs / B&Bs around the country and are fine with this type of accommodation however cleanliness is always expected - and clean this was not!! The bathrooms in particular were filthy to the point that none of us wanted to go into them and we certainly didn't have showers. The toilets were stained and we had someone elses pubic hairs to greet us. The rooms looked as if they hadn't been touched in weeks, cobwebs and fluff in all corners although the bed linen did seem clean. We soon realised that this neglect ran through the entire building as there were cobweds everywhere. The bar areas were nice enough (apart from the cobweds) but the stench from the gents toilets put you off your drinks (although the ladies were ok). Their website advertised that they sold food as did the blackboards inside the pub where they even detailed their Sunday Roasts but when we asked we were told they didn't sell food!?! We would never stay there again - cleaniless costs very little and is always expected no matter how cheap the room!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeekendersEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,700 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
781 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#38 of 45 in Chester
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull and Stirrup Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull and Stirrup Hotel

Address: 8 Upper Northgate Street, Chester CH1 4EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Chester
Price Range: £58 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the mid-nineteenth century, this ideally placed hotel and pub is situated just 50 metres from the Roman Wall. A minutes walk away you'll find Chester's vibrant City Centre that provides a wide selection of bars, restaurants and shops to suit all tastes. Additionally, we are just a 5 minute walk from the Chester Race Course providing the perfect place to stay for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bull and Stirrup Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull And Stirrup Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing